Model assessment · Breville

Breville Paradice 16 Food Processor BFP838 review

A current U.S. 16-cup processor with an included 8/12/16 mm dicing kit, French-fry disc, mini bowl/blade, adjustable slicer, reversible fine/coarse shredder, dough blade, timer and accessory storage boxes.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Breville Paradice 16 BFP838BSS1BNA1 in Brushed Stainless Steel with 16-cup bowl, dicing tools and storage boxes shown
Exact BFP838 Brushed Stainless Steel manufacturer image. It visually depicts the large bowl, transparent chute and included storage presentation; model/package facts come from the exact itemized product page and manual. Breville does not disclose photo, composite or render status. Breville US
A useful fit for

A current U.S. 16-cup package for a household that will use its larger bowl, 8/12/16 mm dicing choices, French-fry disc, mini bowl, adjustable slicing, dedicated dough tool or timer.

The main tradeoff

The 16-cup label is not a universal batch limit. It has more sharp accessories and storage pieces to manage; dicing is prohibited for several hard, fibrous or dense ingredients, bowl/lid require routine handwashing, and the technical dimensions are not given in an unambiguous axis order.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you require a current 16-cup-or-larger bowl and included dicing kit?

The exact U.S. BFP838 page rates the bowl at 16 cups and lists 8/12/16 mm dicing components.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a dedicated French-fry cutter in the box?

The exact BFP838 product page and manual list a French-fry disc as part of the included tool set; width is not specified.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a nested mini work bowl useful for small amounts?

The exact BFP838 manual identifies a mini processing bowl, spindle and mini blade for smaller quantities; it does not publish a cup capacity for that bowl.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require a manual-documented dough amount of at least 900 g flour?

The BFP838 manual lists 2 lb/900 g flour for U.S./Canada with the dough blade. It is not converted into cups.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the whole detachable kit go through the dishwasher routinely?

No. The manual handwash-recommends the bowl and lid, permits only occasional top-rack washing and excludes the dicing gearbox from the dishwasher.

Explore this need in the finder →

The largest current Paradice bowl, with three grid sizes

The Breville Paradice 16 BFP838 is the 16-cup member of Breville’s current Paradice lineup. The exact U.S. Brushed Stainless Steel package is identified in the U.S. product-page selector as BFP838BSS1BNA1. Its most consequential distinction from the 12-cup BFP738 is the combination of a larger rated bowl and a three-size dicing kit: the product page lists 8, 12 and 16 mm dicing discs, plus a French-fry disc, mini bowl and mini blade. The direct-linked U.S. BFP838 instruction book confirms those tools and sets meaningful limits on how the grid should be used.

What the dicing kit does—and does not do

The three grids give a choice of cube size rather than one fixed half-inch result. The manual describes a two-step operation in which the food is sliced and then pushed through the selected grid. It requires the matching disc and grid to be used together, the dicing distributor to be installed, and food to stay below the marked maximum. The supplied cleaners help clear the grid, but using them is another assembly and cleanup step; this is not a disc you can leave mounted for every job.

Breville’s BFP838 manual expressly says not to dice cheese, raw sweet potato, meat (including hard deli meat), or tough-skinned produce such as pineapple and watermelon before peeling. Hard, fibrous ingredients can overload or damage the equipment. For those ingredients, use another documented tool or another prep method. The included French-fry disc is a separate attachment; a grid size is not itself a fry-cut blade. The manual’s warnings and assembly sequence matter more than the general marketing phrase “precision dicing.”

The regular equipment set also includes a micro-serrated S-Blade, adjustable slicer, reversible fine/coarse shredder, dough blade, mini blade and spindle set, French-fry disc, brush, spatula and two storage boxes for the main accessories and dicing kit. Breville describes the main bowl as 16 cups (121 fluid ounces). The mini bowl is intended for smaller quantities and nests in the main bowl; its own capacity is not stated in the reviewed U.S. listing, so do not treat it as a second full-size work bowl.

A wide chute and timer can help with repeated prep

The three-in-one feed chute ranges from 1.7 to 5.5 inches, giving more choice than a single opening. The large pusher is part of the safety interlock: the machine will not run unless the bowl, lid and large pusher are correctly engaged. The manual says not to exceed the chute fill line and recommends smaller chutes for hard or fibrous ingredients that need more control. A broad opening reduces some trimming but does not remove the need to position food carefully or use even pressure.

The controls include Power, Play/Pause, Pulse and a count-up/count-down timer. The manual explains that the timer can stop continuous operation at a selected duration, while the count-up display records accumulated processing time. The timer is practical when a recipe calls for a particular processing interval, but it does not measure a food’s doneness or promise a specific texture. Breville lists a high-torque 1,450-watt induction motor; that number is the manufacturer’s specification, not an independent speed or consistency test.

Capacity is task-specific; cleanup is not all dishwasher-simple

The BFP838 manual lists a maximum of 2 pounds (900 g) flour for U.S./Canadian bread or pizza dough with its dedicated dough blade. If the motor slows on a stiff mixture, the safety guidance says not to run it longer than one minute. Overload protection has its own separate recovery instruction: unplug and let the unit cool for 30 minutes before resuming. Neither limit should be generalized into an all-purpose duty cycle. The manual also prohibits processing hot or boiling liquids; cool them first.

Breville’s product page calls the bowl dishwasher safe, but the manual is more specific: handwash the bowl and lid as the routine, allowing only occasional top-rack washing because repeated heat, detergent and pressure can shorten plastic and interlock life. Pushers and many blades/discs can go on the top rack; the dicing gearbox is excluded from dishwasher cleaning. That mix is important for anyone who expects to put the entire kit through a dishwasher after every session. The two storage boxes also need a home in a cabinet, not just counter space for the motor base.

Who should compare the BFP838 with the BFP738?

The Paradice 12-versus-16 guide compares its package with the BFP738. The BFP838 is a reasonable fit if a 16-cup rated bowl, multiple dicing sizes, French-fry cutting, timer or a nested small-quantity bowl is part of the regular plan. It is a more elaborate package with more sharp tools to sort, assemble, clean and store. If a 12-cup bowl and one 12 mm dice size cover your menus, the BFP738 provides that more focused configuration and has the same broad categories of slicing, shredding and dough tools; you do not need to buy into unused capacity or extra grids.

Published dimensions deserve a physical check. Breville’s technical table gives 17.7 × 11.3 × 9.2 inches beneath a “W × D × H” heading, an order that is not straightforward to reconcile with the assembled machine shown on the page. Measure the exact unit or confirm the orientation with Breville before relying on the apparent 9.2-inch height for a shelf. The product page lists the 30-year limited motor warranty; it does not turn that limited motor term into full-appliance coverage. For the exact accessories and care instructions, see Breville’s BFP838BSS1BNA1 U.S. product page and its BFP838 U.S. instruction book. This is a document-based assessment, not a claim of personal use or comparative testing.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity16 cups
Extra-large feed tube identifiedYes
Dicing kit includedYes
French-fry disc includedYes
Dough blade includedYes
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Household power supplyCurrent U.S. BFP838BSS1BNA1 corded package; exact U.S. page lists a 1,450 W induction motor. The accessible U.S. page does not provide a reliable axis-by-axis size interpretation or a voltage rating in its technical table.
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedYes
Manufacturer-rated motor power1450 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedYes
Medium shredding disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeNo
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.