Model assessment · Chefman

Chefman RJ12 1.5-Cup Electric Food Chopper (reference) review

A compact, pulse-operated 1.5-cup chopper documented by a Chefman feature sheet and a U.S. retailer model listing; exact carton contents and current offer remain unverified.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

Reference only: the U.S. product sheet and retailer listing identify the 1.5-cup RJ12. The retailer no longer offers it new. Exact carton contents and current availability elsewhere are unverified; do not confuse it with the distinct one-cup RJ12-V2 guide.

Black Chefman RJ12 chopper with a clear 1.5-cup bowl, shown in the manufacturer feature sheet.
Image source and model notes
Chefman's feature sheet shows the black RJ12 chopper with a clear 1.5-cup bowl; the brochure view does not confirm a particular retail carton. Chefman manufacturer feature sheet; source PDF retrieved from Home Depot's document CDN
A useful fit for

A compact reference configuration for an owner or shopper who wants to identify a 1.5-cup pulse chopper for small chopping and mincing tasks, and who understands that exact package details and current availability remain unverified.

The main tradeoff

The manufacturer sheet publishes a 50 W, 1.5-cup pulse chopper and dishwasher-safe detachable parts, but not a full carton checklist, top-rack instruction, liquid ceiling, or run-time limit. Best Buy no longer sells its RJ12 listing new; this is not a buying recommendation.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is a 1.5-cup rated bowl enough for the small portions you repeat?

The Chefman product sheet states 1.5 cups. That is the bowl rating, not a promise of recipe yield; this model remains reference-only until a current exact offer is verified.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must removable parts be confirmed top-rack safe?

The sheet says detachable parts are dishwasher-safe but does not specify top-rack placement. An essential top-rack requirement stays unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a published liquid-fill maximum?

No numeric wet-fill ceiling appears in the inspected RJ12 feature sheet, so a minimum liquid-capacity need cannot be satisfied from this evidence.

Explore this need in the finder →

The model assessed here is the Chefman RJ12, a 1.5-cup electric food chopper. Chefman’s one-page product sheet visibly names RJ12 and describes a 1.5-cup bowl; a U.S. Best Buy product listing independently pairs the black RJ12 with a 1.5-cup capacity and SKU 5818739. Best Buy says its own listing is no longer available in new condition. That is a retailer-specific status, not proof that every seller or the model family is discontinued. This is therefore an identification reference, not a current purchase recommendation.

A 1.5-cup bowl is for small prep, not a meal-size batch

Chefman positions the RJ12 as a compact alternative to bringing out a full-size processor, with one- to two-person household prep in mind. A 1.5-cup bowl can suit a few servings of chopped vegetables, herbs, nuts, or a small quantity of sauce ingredients. It will not take a full recipe batch just because the product sheet calls it a food processor. If you regularly prepare larger quantities, the bowl rating is the first limit to compare: a 3-, 5-, or 8-cup machine can reduce the number of batches, though it also takes more storage room.

Capacity is not the same as useful working volume. The inspected RJ12 sheet gives a bowl rating but no separate maximum working-fill amount or recipe-specific batch limit. Its promotional image shows graduation marks, but those marks are not a published processing limit. It does not establish how much liquid can be processed safely, either. Do not treat the 1.5-cup headline as a confirmed liquid maximum or as a promise that every ingredient will circulate evenly at full volume.

Pulse control favors short, observable steps

The feature sheet describes a pulse function and removable stainless-steel processing blade. That gives the cook a simple way to pause and check texture rather than relying on a long automatic program. Chefman lists chopping and mincing, with vegetables, fruits, herbs, cheese, nuts, and chocolate among the examples. Those are manufacturer-listed tasks, not a performance test, and no independent consistency or noise measurements are available here.

The material does not document a separate continuous-on mode, variable speeds, an automatic timer, a feed chute, slicing or shredding discs, or a dough tool. The compact bowl and single blade make this a narrow chopping configuration in the evidence available. If your essential task is slicing potatoes, shredding a block of cheese into a large bowl, kneading dough, or dicing into a fixed grid, choose a package whose manufacturer explicitly lists that attachment instead of assuming the RJ12 can do it.

Cleaning and fit details need a careful read

Chefman’s sheet says the detachable parts are dishwasher-safe and shows a clear work bowl, safety-lock lid, and stainless blade. It does not specify top-rack placement, so a shopper who requires confirmed top-rack care should treat that detail as unknown. A stand-alone user guide for the base RJ12 was not present in the current Chefman food-chopper document-library view I checked. The separate RJ12-V2 guide describes a different one-cup setup; its liquid limit and handling instructions should not be transferred to this 1.5-cup RJ12.

The published electrical specification is 120 volts, 60 hertz, and 50 watts. That is a maker-published rating, not a measure of chopping speed or motor durability. There is no RJ12-specific run-time ceiling, wet-fill ceiling, or heavy-food restriction in the inspected feature sheet. If you own one, use the instructions supplied with that exact unit and stop if its bowl, lid, or base does not lock as intended.

Published dimensions are not dependable enough for a tight cabinet decision: the brochure narrative and its specification panel give different figures. Measure an owned unit or find an exact manual before assigning a shelf clearance. Likewise, the brochure is a feature overview, not a complete carton checklist. It does not settle replacement-part compatibility or prove what every retail box contained.

How it compares in a questionnaire

If your minimum bowl size is 1.5 cups and you are comparing older products, the RJ12 meets the stated capacity threshold on paper. It still remains outside the buying shortlist here because an exact current offer and complete retail package have not been verified. Selecting a two-cup minimum rules it out on capacity alone. A top-rack-only cleaning requirement also cannot be confirmed from the broader dishwasher-safe statement. Those are different limits: the first is a known undersize mismatch; the second is a missing care detail.

For a documented 1.5-cup alternative, compare the separately reviewed Proctor Silex 72500G or 72507G and read their own manual/model-code notes. For a larger bowl, the KitchenAid KFCR500 review covers a 5-cup configuration with different storage and battery considerations. The RJ12 is most useful to identify for an existing owner or a shopper comparing historical compact choppers—not as a reason to buy a listing whose exact carton, care limits, and current availability remain unconfirmed.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity1.5 cups
Household power supply120 V AC, 60 Hz; the manufacturer sheet separately rates the unit at 50 W.
Manufacturer-rated motor power50 W
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.