Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Plus 20-Cup Food Processor review

A discontinued Brushed Chrome 20-cup configuration with an 800 W motor, wide feed tube, three fixed slicing discs, a medium shredder, metal chopping blade and plastic dough blade. The DLC-XP model prefix appears in a CPSC blade recall; this is an identification reference, not a purchase recommendation.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Cuisinart DLC-XPBCN Plus 20 Cup Food Processor in Brushed Chrome, showing the branded base and tall clear bowl/feed assembly
Image source and model notes
Cuisinart exact DLC-XPBCN product-page image: Brushed Chrome motor base and tall clear work-bowl/feed-tube assembly. The original image is a soft, low-detail portrait; it does not establish included cutting tools or any unit’s recall-remedy status. The manufacturer does not disclose whether the image is a photograph, composite or render. Cuisinart U.S.
A useful fit for

A source-based identification reference for someone checking the original package or manual of an existing DLC-XPBCN. Its 20-cup work bowl, wide feed tube, three fixed slicers, medium shredder and separate dough blade explain the original tool set, but the CPSC model-prefix recall and unknown blade/remedy status make it ineligible as a purchase recommendation.

The main tradeoff

This discontinued and out-of-stock model has an unusually broad original tool set, but the 20-cup rating is not a universal task limit: the booklet lists six cups for raw produce chopping/puréeing, four cups for very thin liquid and separate flour ceilings for dough. The three slicing thicknesses are separate fixed discs, not a dial-adjustable disc. CPSC recall 17-050 names DLC-XP-prefix machines with the specified four-rivet blade; no individual unit is cleared here.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would the original three-disc set be more useful than one adjustable slicer?

The DLC-XPBCN page lists three fixed slicing discs at 2, 4 and 6 mm plus one medium shredder. That gives preset thickness options but does not provide a dial-adjustable disc. The discontinued model remains a recall-family reference, not a shopping match.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a dedicated plastic blade for yeast dough, and what batch size do you actually make?

The linked booklet recommends the included plastic dough blade above 3-1/2 cups flour, while its metal blade handles smaller dough recipes. For bread dough it caps a batch at 10 cups all-purpose or 6 cups whole-grain flour and says to split larger batches; sweet-dough guidance has its own six-cup flour ceiling. The manual's task instructions do not make this model safe to buy or use without unit-specific recall clearance.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the 20-cup work-bowl rating the batch size you expect for every job?

No. The booklet says up to six cups for raw produce chopping or puréeing, four cups for very thin liquids and four cups of nuts for chopping. Nut butter and yeast dough have separate, smaller task-specific quantities. Use the exact task directions rather than assuming a 20-cup load.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are you checking a secondhand DLC-XP before using its blade?

CPSC 17-050 includes model numbers beginning DLC-XP when fitted with the specified four-rivet blade. This record cannot establish whether a particular machine has that blade or received the remedy. Stop using an affected blade and contact Cuisinart to verify the individual unit; this catalogue excludes the model from purchasing recommendations.

Explore this need in the finder →

A discontinued 20-cup machine belongs in the history shelf, not a shortlist

The exact U.S. listing identifies the Cuisinart DLC-XPBCN in Brushed Chrome as a discontinued, out-of-stock Plus 20 Cup Food Processor. It advertises an 800 W motor, a 20-cup work bowl and a broad tool set, and says the machine is UL listed for household and commercial use. That combination sounds attractive for large-batch prep, but there is an important limit on this page: the DLC-XP model prefix is included in CPSC recall 17-050 for machines fitted with the specified four-rivet blade. The listing and booklet cannot establish the blade or replacement history of any individual secondhand unit. This review is therefore an identification reference only, not a recommendation to buy or use one.

What this package was designed to do

The U.S. page lists a 20-cup work bowl with an extra-large feed tube, small and large pushers, a metal chopping/mixing blade, a separate plastic dough blade, three stainless-steel slicing discs, a medium shredding disc, a detachable disc stem, a spatula and a cleaning tool. The fixed slicing choices are 2, 4 and 6 mm; they are three discs to change, not a thickness dial. The single shredder is described as medium. There is no listed dicing grid, French-fry disc, whisk, continuous-feed accessory, second work bowl or storage caddy in this package.

The page-linked booklet is named DLC-XPN.pdf, but its cover identifies the DLC-XP food processor and its contents call the appliance the DLC-X Plus. The PDF metadata says IB-1210B while its final production page prints IB-1210C. Those codes are preserved rather than treated as interchangeable model numbers. The direct product-page link, 20-cup bowl and matching Plus tool set make the booklet relevant to this DLC-XPBCN assessment, while the listed retail model remains DLC-XPBCN.

Capacity is a task question, not a single number

The manual describes the assembled machine as 17 inches tall and the work bowl as 8 inches in diameter. Its extra-large feed tube is described as 1½ pints, 6¼ inches long and 3¼ inches wide. Those are useful clues for counter and feed-tube fit, but the listing does not publish body width, body depth or weight. The manual also asks for four inches of clearance on every side so the base can ventilate. A 17-inch height alone does not prove the processor will run comfortably under overhead cabinets.

More importantly, the manual does not turn the bowl rating into a 20-cup limit for every recipe. It directs users to process up to six cups of raw fruit or vegetables for chopping or puréeing, up to four cups of very thin liquid, four cups of nuts when chopping, and three cups of nuts for nut butter. Its bread-dough guidance permits up to ten cups of all-purpose flour or six cups of whole-grain flour; larger batches should be divided. The plastic dough blade is for dough recipes above 3½ cups of flour, while the metal blade is used for smaller amounts. Sweet dough has a separate six-cup flour maximum. These are manual-specific limits, not interchangeable bowl estimates.

Controls and cleanup demand a little routine

Two front levers provide continuous ON and PULSE/OFF control. The manual says the time between pulses should allow ingredients to fall back toward the blade; frequent short pulses are more controllable for a coarse chop than simply running the motor. For yeast dough, it directs the user to start the machine before adding liquid and stream it through the feed tube as quickly as the flour absorbs it. It warns that an over-capacity or overly wet/dry dough may fail to clean the bowl, and it gives troubleshooting steps rather than promising every dough will work unchanged.

All removable parts except the motor base are described as dishwasher-safe; the booklet does not specify a top-rack-only rule. It advises rinsing the bowl, cover, pusher and blade or disc promptly, keeping the motor base out of water, and storing sharp discs and blades safely off the motor shaft. The manual identifies the work bowl as Lexan polycarbonate and warns that ice, whole spices and essential oils such as wintergreen can scratch or cloud it. This is not the same as a complete extra-bowl package, and the large part set needs a safe place to live.

How to use this page when considering a surviving unit

The listing's household/commercial UL statement is not a claim of present availability or commercial warranty coverage: the booklet's warranty excludes damage other than ordinary household use, and the manufacturer marks this product discontinued and out of stock. Most importantly, the CPSC recall identifies models beginning DLC-XP when they have the specified silver blade with four rivets and a beige hub. The notice says only that blade configuration is included, and directs owners to stop using the affected blade and contact Cuisinart for a free replacement. Do not use this assessment to declare any unit cleared. Have Cuisinart verify the exact bottom-label model and the blade/remedy status before use.

If you want a currently listed 14-cup Cuisinart instead, the FP-1400 is a different package with one adjustable slicer and a universal blade that its manual supports for yeast dough; it does not include this machine's three fixed discs or a separate dough blade. If a dedicated dough blade matters more than a 14-cup bowl, compare the package-specific KitchenAid KFP1318, KFP1319 and KFP1320 assessments. They are 13-cup machines with different included accessories; their reviews explain which tools each exact version supplies. The right choice depends on the tools and task quantities you need, not on the largest printed bowl number.

Sources: Cuisinart's exact DLC-XPBCN U.S. listing; its page-linked DLC-XP instruction booklet; and CPSC Recall 17-050. This is document-based product analysis, not a hands-on test or a clearance determination for any specific machine.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity20 cups
Extra-large feed tube identifiedYes
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedYes
Refrigerator lid includedNo
More specifications and setup details
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedYes
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedYes
Published appliance height17 in
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power800 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedYes
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Limited warranty term3 years

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.