Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Core Custom 13-Cup Food Processor FP-130 review

A 13-cup standard-bowl processor with a 1-7 mm adjustable slicing disc, separate reversible fine/medium shredder and manual-supported four-cup-flour yeast-dough plan using its universal blade.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart Core Custom FP-130 White 13-cup food processor with clear bowl, feed assembly and Mix/High/Low/Pulse controls
Exact current U.S. White FP-130 product-page image. Illustrative product cutout, not evidence of every box item; the manufacturer does not disclose whether the image is photographed, composited or rendered. Cuisinart US
A useful fit for

A document-based fit for households that regularly need a 13-cup standard bowl, variable 1-7 mm slices and fine/medium shredding, and may knead a yeast dough within the exact manual's four-cup white/all-purpose flour ceiling.

The main tradeoff

The 13-cup rating is not the task ceiling for every job: the manual lists six cups for chopped produce, 12 for slicing/shredding and nine for thin liquids. The included universal blade supports a bounded yeast-dough method but is not a separate dedicated dough blade. Dicing, the small work bowl, blender and juicing tools are additional purchases. The body is 16.1 inches high; the page does not state the unit of its 8.82 weight number or publish motor watts.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need a bowl of at least 13 cups?

FP-130 has a 13-cup work bowl. Its manual still sets lower task ceilings, including six cups chopped produce and four cups finished purée.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will you prepare yeast dough with the supplied tool, and what flour ceiling applies?

The included metal chopping/mixing/dough blade supports the manual's yeasted-dough method up to four cups of white/all-purpose flour. Use Low, lock the medium pusher and add liquid gradually after starting the machine; this is not a dedicated separate dough blade.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want an adjustable slice thickness plus separate fine/medium shredding?

The FP-130 has a 1-7 mm adjustable slicing disc and a different reversible fine/medium shredding disc. Neither is the separately sold dicing kit.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a grid dicing kit essential in the standard box?

No dicing kit is listed as standard equipment. Cuisinart identifies its dicing kit as a separately sold accessory; slicing and shredding do not make grid-cut cubes.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are top-rack dishwasher directions required?

The linked manual says all parts except the housing base are dishwasher-safe on the top rack only; bottom-rack heat may damage the bowl, cover and accessories over time.

Explore this need in the finder →
What maximum body-height limit can your storage space allow?

The exact body is 16.1 inches high. A 16.25-inch storage limit admits that published body height, while a strict 16-inch cap does not; allow separate lid-removal and operating clearance.

Explore this need in the finder →

A middle size with two different cutting setups

The Cuisinart Core Custom FP-130 is the current U.S. 13-cup White configuration. It sits between the 10-cup FP-110 and 14-cup FP-1400 in rated bowl size, but its package is not simply a larger FP-110. The FP-130 keeps a standard work bowl, adds an adjustable slicer and a Mix paddle, and ships with a single reversible fine/medium shredding disc. Its linked 124-page FP-130 Series booklet supplies the practical limits missing from a bare bowl label. The exact product page and manual list one 13-cup Tritan bowl, a sealed cover, three pushers, removable stem adapter, storage hub, the metal chopping/mixing/dough blade, a reversible shredding disc and an adjustable slicing disc.

The exact U.S. product pages also identify discontinued gray FP-130AG, blue FP-130MB and silver FP-130SS finishes. Their pages show the same Core Custom 13-cup tool list and link to the FP-130 Series booklet; those finish-only configurations are retained for comparison under this shared functional assessment, not represented as current purchase choices.

Do not treat 13 cups as a universal batch

The instruction booklet's chart allows 12 cups of sliced or shredded produce or cheese, but chopped fruit or vegetables are limited to 6 cups. Chopped cheese is 4½ cups; puréed produce is 6 cups cooked or 4 cups finished; meat, fish or seafood is 2 pounds; thin liquid is 9 cups; and nut butter is listed at 4 cups of nuts. It also specifies one 8-inch cheesecake batter or one 15.25-ounce cake mix and a recipe-based five dozen cookies. These figures describe different jobs, not interchangeable fills. For a large batch, start with the manual row that matches your recipe and split the work if the chart requires it.

One adjustable slicer, plus a separate reversible shredder

The slicer's indicator spans 1–7 mm, from thin to thick slices. The other disc reverses between fine and medium shredding; it is not the same disc as the adjustable slicer, and the two pieces should not be confused as a three-setting slice/shred set. The manual describes whole slices and shredding for firm or hard cheeses and vegetables. It recommends packing the feed tube evenly, applying pressure suited to the food, chilling cheese, and using the pusher rather than reaching into the tube. This combination makes the FP-130 a useful fit if you switch slice thickness while also wanting fine and medium shreds in a regular bowl.

Grid-cut dicing is a separate job. Cuisinart lists its dicing kit as an additional accessory, not a standard FP-130 item; the reversible shredder does not create cubes. Nor does this package include a French-fry disc, a second work bowl, a separate feed-and-eject assembly, or a separate dedicated dough blade. The metal universal blade is described as a chopping/mixing/dough tool, which is a meaningful difference from a box containing a standalone dough accessory.

Yeast dough is supported, within a stated flour cap

The manual supports yeasted dough on the included universal blade and says never to use more than 4 cups of white/all-purpose flour. It directs the owner to use Low, lock the medium pusher, start the machine before adding liquid, and feed liquid slowly so the dry ingredients can absorb it. That is a documented plan for a bounded batch, not a promise that every stiff dough or successive heavy batch is suitable. If your target is more than four cups of flour, the FP-130's 13-cup bowl does not make that larger dough load acceptable; compare a model whose own booklet supports your quantity.

Controls, storage and care that affect ownership

High, Low and Mix run until Off is selected; Pulse runs only while pressed, with the booklet suggesting roughly one-second pulses unless a recipe says otherwise. That offers more control than a simple two-button processor, but the manual does not publish a motor-watt figure. Parts except the motor base are dishwasher-safe on the top rack only. The instructions warn that bottom-rack heat may damage the bowl, cover and accessories over time; rinse promptly, handle the sharp metal tools carefully, and store them in the supplied hub inside the bowl. Long successive heavy batches can trigger the temperature-controlled motor breaker. If it stops, the manual says to switch off, unplug and let it cool; it gives no universal continuous-run allowance, and a rest period should not be turned into a guessed duty-cycle rating.

The published body is 12 by 8 by 16.1 inches, with a page-listed weight number of 8.82 whose unit is not stated there. Measure the actual storage opening and allow space to lift the cover; the footprint and storage fit matter more than the color image. Cuisinart's page and booklet list a three-year limited warranty for the machine.

Who should choose FP-130?

Choose this package if 13 cups is a useful standard-bowl size, 1–7 mm slicing is a repeated task, and you want both fine and medium shredding without buying those primary tools separately. The smaller FP-110 is a 10-cup alternative with two separate reversible fine/medium slice-and-shred discs, but no adjustable slicer; its own manual sets different task capacities and a 2.5-cup flour ceiling. The FP-1400 has a 14-cup bowl and its own 1–7 mm adjustable slicer, with a five-cup flour maximum in its booklet. Those numbers come from each exact model's instructions, not an assumption that a bigger bowl automatically wins every job. For dicing, choose a package that includes the grid or add only a separately verified compatible accessory. The FP-130 assessment is document-based, not a hands-on or performance test; Cuisinart's product image is illustrative and its photographic or rendering method is not disclosed.

Manufacturer documents: FP-130 product page · FP-130 Series instruction and recipe booklet · Quick reference.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity13 cups
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedYes
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Published appliance height16.1 in
Household power supplycorded household appliance; U.S. manual warranty language specifies 120 V outlets
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Adjustable slicing disc includedYes
Medium shredding disc includedYes
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes
Published width8 in
Published weight8.82 lb
Limited warranty term3 years

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.