Model assessment · Hamilton Beach

Hamilton Beach 8-Cup Food Processor (70740G) review

A black, corded eight-cup household processor with a 450-watt motor, two speeds plus pulse, a chopping/mixing blade and a reversible slice/shred disc. The linked manual says not to knead dough, crush ice or grind grain, coffee or spices.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Exact Hamilton Beach 70740G black 8-cup food processor with clear bowl and feed chute; manufacturer image shows shredded red cabbage in the bowl.
Main image supplied on the exact Hamilton Beach 70740G U.S. product page. The manufacturer does not disclose whether it is a photograph, composite or rendering; staged food is illustrative and is not evidence of performance or batch size. Hamilton Beach
A useful fit for

A fit for everyday chopping, slicing and shredding when one eight-cup bowl, two speeds plus pulse and top-rack-cleanable parts are enough. The task chart is narrower than the bowl headline for produce, meat and cheese, and the manual explicitly rules out dough-kneading, ice-crushing and dry-grinding use.

The main tradeoff

This exact 70740G package has only a chopping/mixing blade and reversible slice/shred disc. The manufacturer page says Standard for feed-tube size, despite promotional copy calling it large, and publishes no chute width or body dimensions. It includes neither a dough blade nor specialty grid, adjustable disc, second bowl or grind mode. The manual provides useful task-specific amounts but no fixed motor-on maximum, flour ceiling, nut-batch maximum or storage-height measurement. The manufacturer page showed Out of Stock on 2026-10-23; availability can change.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Will an eight-cup rated bowl cover the jobs you repeat, while you still follow smaller task-specific amounts?

The 70740G is rated at eight cups, but its linked manual limits fruit and vegetable chopping to 2–3 cups and lists separate meat and cheese maxima. Bowl size and safe task amount are not interchangeable.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a dedicated dough blade essential for your routine?

No. The 70740G package has a chopping blade and reversible slice/shred disc, and its exact manual explicitly says not to knead dough. Choose a different model if kneading is a required task.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the processor have an explicitly extra-large feed tube?

The exact page calls the tube large in its marketing copy, but its specifications table classifies it as Standard and gives no width. It should not satisfy an essential extra-large-tube requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

An eight-cup everyday processor, not an all-purpose batch promise

The Hamilton Beach 70740G is a black, corded household food processor with an eight-cup work bowl, a 450-watt motor, two continuous speeds and pulse. Its exact U.S. product page lists a stainless chopping/mixing blade and one reversible slicing/shredding disc. The page showed the model out of stock when checked on October 23, 2026; that dated listing is useful context, not a claim that the product is discontinued or available today. The directly linked manual identifies the model group as 70740, type FP21, 120 volts, 60 hertz and 450 watts, and explains that suffix letters may follow the printed model number.

Two tools cover the ordinary prep jobs

Use the S-shaped chopping/mixing blade for coarse chopping, mincing, mixing dressings and pureeing suitable foods. For more even chopping, the manual recommends similarly sized pieces of about one inch, leaving space for the food to move, and pulsing on and off. Its reversible disc has a slicing edge on one side and shredding teeth on the other; the stamped side facing up determines which job it performs. That is useful flexibility for a weeknight rotation of chopped aromatics, a small dip, sliced vegetables or shredded cheese without adding a second machine.

There is no dough blade, dicing grid, whisk, spiralizer, adjustable slicer or second work bowl in the documented package. The manual expressly says not to knead dough, crush ice, grind grain, coffee beans or spices, or slice frozen meat. It also cautions against mashing starchy vegetables such as potatoes because they can become gummy. If one of those jobs is non-negotiable, the 70740G is the wrong package even if an eight-cup bowl sounds large enough. For a dedicated dough tool, compare a model whose exact package includes one; for hard-spice batches, compare a compact chopper with a manual-documented Grind setting.

Capacity depends on the ingredient and attachment

Eight cups is the bowl's rated size, not a universal amount for every operation. The linked manual's chopping chart limits fruit and vegetables to two or three cups, cut into one-inch cubes, and meat to 0.7 pound in one-inch cubes. It lists five ounces for chilled Parmesan or Romano and eight ounces for chilled Cheddar, Jack or mozzarella. Crackers are the exception in that chart: as many as ten cups may fill the bowl and lid up into the chute. Those figures describe separate tasks with the chopping/mixing blade; they should not be combined into one large-batch promise. When using the reversible disc, stop at the bowl's marked MAX line; the manual does not give a universal disc batch weight or slice thickness.

For cheese, the guide says to use firm, chilled cheese and advises freezing soft mozzarella for about 30 minutes before shredding. It also warns that overpacking the chute or pressing too hard can make slices and shreds uneven. Feed food with the supplied pusher, not your fingers, and cut ingredients enough to fit. The product page's feature copy calls the chute large and mentions a whole cheese block, but its specification table classifies chute size as standard. It publishes no opening measurement, so buyers who need a genuinely extra-large tube should not assume the marketing description settles that requirement.

Simple controls and compact storage, with a care boundary

The manual presents settings 1 and 2 as continuous operation and P as instant on/off pulse control. The parts list and storage instructions show one bowl, one pusher, a chopping blade and the reversible disc; the lid flips upside down into the bowl for storage. This is a straightforward arrangement for people who want a few repeatable functions rather than a collection of task-specific accessories. The exact sources do not publish assembled height, width or depth, so a tight cupboard-height limit remains unverified rather than a fit claim based on a photograph.

Removable parts are dishwasher-safe on the top rack, but the manual says not to use the SANI cycle. Wipe the base, knob and cord; do not immerse them. After extended continuous use, let the processor rest for about four minutes. The manual does not specify a fixed maximum motor-on interval, so it cannot satisfy a buyer who sets a minimum documented run time. The U.S./Canada booklet states a one-year limited warranty.

Who should keep it on the shortlist?

The 70740G suits someone who wants an ordinary chopping-and-slicing set in a medium-size bowl, has no essential need for kneading, grinding, ice crushing or specialty cutting, and is content to follow the manual's smaller produce and cheese limits. The two speeds plus pulse are enough to choose between short bursts and continuous processing, while the nested-lid storage arrangement keeps the loose tools with the bowl. It is less convincing when batch quantities must be known in advance, because most listed chopping limits are well below eight cups and no height or run-time ceiling is published.

Questionnaire choices should therefore change the recommendation in practical ways: an eight-cup minimum and top-rack cleanup fit this documented package; a dough-blade, extra-large-feed-tube, dicing, adjustable-slicing or strict cabinet-height requirement does not. If your routine is mainly produce slicing, a larger bowl may not be the answer by itself—the chute and disc workflow matter too. If you routinely make dough or grind spices, choose a package whose own manual supports that operation instead of extrapolating from this processor's wattage or bowl label.

Official references: Hamilton Beach 70740G product page and its directly linked Use & Care guide 840203904.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity8 cups
Extra-large feed tube identifiedNo
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Household power supplyCorded U.S. household model; exact 70740 / Type FP21 manual label lists 120 V / 60 Hz / 450 W, and the linked manual permits suffix letters after the model number.
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power450 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.