On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Will a rated nine-cup processor bowl meet your minimum, without counting a blender jar?
The exact listing calls the BN601 bowl nine cups and lists no separate blender pitcher or travel cup. A bowl rating is not a task-specific batch maximum.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a reversible slicing/shredding disc, or a grid dicer?
The exact BN601 box list names a reversible slice/shred disc and spindle, not a grid dicing kit. It gives no exact slice thickness or shred grade.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a dedicated dough blade essential, or do you need a documented flour limit?
The BN601 listing includes a separate dough blade and advertises a dough program; it does not publish a flour-cup chart. Do not infer batch size from bowl volume or peak watts.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the published 16.02-inch height fit your storage opening?
The exact listing gives a 16.02-inch body height; measure around the chute lid and pusher before choosing an under-cabinet parking spot.
Explore this need in the finder →Is top-rack-only care or a particular uninterrupted motor interval a hard requirement?
The exact listing says dishwasher-safe but does not name rack placement. The BN600 Series manual's cover does not list the exact BN601 suffix, so top-rack and numeric-duty requirements remain unverified for this reference package.
Explore this need in the finder →The Ninja Professional Plus BN601 is a nine-cup stand-alone processor package, not a blender set. Its product listing names a chopping blade, a separate dough blade, a reversible slicing/shredding disc and a chute lid with pusher. The model is kept here as a reference rather than a current purchase recommendation: it is not among the products shown in the current Ninja U.S. food-processor directory.
A full bowl without a blender package
The BN601’s listed nine-cup bowl is a useful middle ground for regular chopping, grating and batch prep. It is larger than a mini chopper, but its capacity label should not be treated as a promise that every recipe can be run at nine cups. A sauce, dough or finely chopped mixture may need a smaller load than a loosely packed bowl of produce. If your main reason for shopping is a dedicated blender pitcher or travel cup, this is the wrong package: neither appears in the BN601’s itemized box list.
The manufacturer lists 850 watts and a 1000-peak-watt figure. Those labels describe the electrical rating and peak claim, not a measured guarantee about how quickly carrots shred or how quiet the machine sounds. On a counter, its listed body is 9.88 inches long, 7.76 inches wide and 16.02 inches high. The slim width is convenient, but the nearly 16-inch body may not fit under a low cabinet. Measure with room for the tall chute, lid and pusher rather than assuming the bare base will be the storage height.
Three real tools, with a few notable absences
The BN601 listing separates the everyday chopping blade from the dough blade and the reversible disc. That is a more useful distinction than calling the box “multi-purpose”: you can keep a slicing or shredding job on the disc and use the chopping blade for smaller prep, while a dedicated dough tool has its own role. The manufacturer’s package list and BN601 gallery image agree on these three tool types. The listing does not specify disc thickness, adjustable slicing settings, or separate fine and coarse shredding grades, so a reversible disc should not be mistaken for a dial-adjustable slicer.
It also does not list a grid dicer, French-fry or crinkle-cut disc, whisk, second bowl, storage caddy or blending vessel. Those omissions matter if your routine depends on small cubes, a shaped fry cut or more than one vessel ready at once. A nine-cup bowl cannot make those missing tools appear. If you want dicing, compare an exact package that names its grid and clean-out tool. If a blender is useful most days, a hybrid Ninja system may make better sense even if its processor capacity or attachment arrangement differs.
Dough claims still need a batch plan
The product page promotes a dough program and a separate dough blade, and advertises making two pounds of dough in as little as 30 seconds. That is not a published flour-cup chart or a guarantee that every dough formula should be loaded at that amount. A bowl rating is not a dough limit. If a particular flour quantity or repeated run interval is essential, check the instructions supplied with the exact BN601 before relying on the headline claim.
The guide I could inspect is for the broader BN600 Series; it describes a nine-cup bowl and the same blade, disc, chute and pusher arrangement. It says the dough tool forms a ball rather than continuously kneading and describes 60-second Low and High settings. But its cover does not identify BN601 or its suffix, and it says Puree is unavailable on some versions. Treat those manual instructions as a reason to verify the exact booklet that came with a unit, not as a substitute for that check. The exact BN601 product listing names four Auto-iQ tasks and three manual controls, but the use of Puree should be confirmed on the actual package if that mode is critical.
Care and fit before you choose
The product listing describes the removable parts as dishwasher-safe, but it does not state the rack position or a heated-dry limit for this exact model. A broader series guide recommends top-rack cleaning; because the suffix crosswalk is not explicit, use the exact instructions that accompany an owned unit for strict care requirements. Likewise, the product page does not give feed-opening measurements or a maximum whole-vegetable size. The pusher is useful for feeding food through a chute, but the word “feed chute” alone does not establish that whole produce will fit.
Who should compare something else?
The available Ninja U.S. category captures vary in row count, and BN601 is not among the five model cards exposed by the browser-opened copy. The BZ601 is another stand-alone nine-cup model, while the TB401 pairs a processor bowl with a blender pitcher and cup. These are distinct packages with their own limits and manuals, not alternate names for BN601. The changing cards do not establish that BN601 is discontinued or currently offered; compare currently listed alternatives by the vessels and tools you will actually use.
For a shopper who needs a current buying match, a numeric dough maximum, a verified top-rack instruction, exact disc measurements, an included dicer or a second bowl, the BN601 should not be the answer on this page. Its confirmed strengths are a rated nine-cup bowl, separate chopping and dough blades, a reversible slice/shred disc, and a narrow counter footprint. Its reference status and manual-specific unknowns are equally important parts of the decision.
Bottom line: The BN601’s listed package covers the common processor tools without adding blender vessels. It is a useful point of comparison for an owner or shopper researching the model, but current status and exact manual limits are not established here. For a new purchase, compare an actively listed configuration whose specific package and instructions meet your essential needs.
Source: Ninja Professional Plus Food Processor product information. Product-page specifications are manufacturer claims, not independent performance testing.
Key details at a glance
| Rated work-bowl capacity | 9 cups |
|---|---|
| Dicing kit included | No |
| French-fry disc included | No |
| Dough blade included | Yes |
| Refrigerator lid included | No |
| Whisk accessory included | No |
More specifications and setup details
| Thin/medium/thick disc set included | No |
|---|---|
| Dedicated thick-slicing disc included | No |
| Published appliance height | 16.02 in |
| Household power supply | Exact U.S. product listing states 120 V and 850 W rated / 1000 peak watts. |
| Drizzle basin included | No |
| Additional work bowl confirmed | No |
| Manufacturer-rated motor power | 850 W |
| Adjustable slicing disc included | No |
| Removable parts dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| Continuous-feed attachment included | No |
| Dedicated Grind function documented | No |
| Crinkle-cut disc included | No |
| Slicing/shredding disc included | Yes |
| Published width | 7.76 in |
| Published weight | 7.3 lb |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Ninja Professional Plus Food Processor, model BN601
- Ninja U.S. Food Processors category observations
- SharkNinja BN600 Series Professional Food Processor with Auto-iQ Owner's Guide, code BN600_Series_IB_MP_Mv6
- SharkNinja BN601 gallery image index
- Ninja BN601 main gallery image
- Ninja reversible slicing/shredding disc compatibility page
- Ninja U.S. Food Processors category observations
Choose a tool set for your usual prep.
Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.
