Model assessment · BLACK+DECKER

BLACK+DECKER 12-Cup Food Processor FP5050SC review

Canadian-listed 12-cup processor with 550 W motor, reversible disc, dough blade and a manual-listed 4-cup nested bowl; task limits are lower than the nominal bowl ratings. Reference only; not a verified U.S. buying configuration.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Canadian-market model reference only; not a U.S. buying recommendation. Keep the exact model suffix intact when checking a machine or replacement parts.

BLACK+DECKER FP5050SC Canadian 12-cup food processor with a clear work bowl and wide feed chute
Image source and model notes
Exact Canadian FP5050SC product-page image. It depicts the silver-and-black processor, clear handled bowl and wide feed-chute assembly with sliced food staged inside. BLACK+DECKER does not state whether the image is a photograph, composite or rendering. This assembled view does not establish the complete sales carton or prove that every depicted accessory is included. BLACK+DECKER Canada
A useful fit for

A reference for an existing FP5050SC when both a large processor bowl and a separate, nested small-batch bowl are useful, along with slice/shred and a dedicated dough blade. Use the manual task figures—8 cups dry in the main bowl, 3 cups for the nested bowl, and no more than 3.5 cups flour with dough blade—not the nominal bowl labels alone.

The main tradeoff

The nested bowl and dedicated dough blade broaden the tool set but add assembly and cleaning steps. No exact disc dimensions, general continuous-run limit, package dimensions or voltage rating are established. The Canadian page and bilingual exact-model manual contain conflicting warranty wording (page and French section: two years; English section: three years), and the exact code is not a confirmed U.S. offer.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would a nested small bowl be useful alongside the 12-cup processor?

The exact FP5050SC booklet identifies a 4-cup nested bowl and small blade, but its task chart says the small bowl processes up to 3 cups. It is nested in the large assembly, not an independent second full-size bowl.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a manual-supported dough amount with the included dough blade?

The exact manual says not to use the dough blade below 2 cups flour, not to exceed 3.5 cups flour, and to knead no longer than one minute. This is a distinct mode from chopping or slicing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a general maximum continuous motor-on interval essential?

The manual caps use of the Stop/Pulse button at two minutes, but says Low/High continue until stopped and does not state a general continuous-run ceiling. An essential continuous-on limit therefore remains unconfirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →

The BLACK+DECKER FP5050SC is a Canadian-listed 12-cup processor built around a 550-watt motor, two speeds plus pulse, a wide-mouth feed chute with pusher, a reversible slicing/shredding disc and a dedicated dough blade. Its exact-use booklet identifies a 4-cup nested workbowl and separate small chopping blade, giving it a smaller-batch path inside the larger system. That tool mix is more versatile than a single-bowl processor, but it also makes package verification and cleaning more involved. FP5050SC is an exact Canadian code, not a confirmed U.S. purchase configuration.

Two scales of prep in one bowl assembly

The manual identifies a 12-cup workbowl, a nested 4-cup workbowl, a large stainless chopping blade, a small stainless chopping blade, a reversible disc and a dough blade. The small bowl is fitted into the large bowl rather than being a second full-size bowl that can be used independently. That is useful when you want a shorter chop or blend without loading the entire main workbowl, but it is not a substitute for a separate spare bowl during simultaneous prep. The manual’s task guidance is more modest than the component labels: it says the large bowl handles up to eight cups of dry food, three cups of liquid and two cups of ¾-inch meat cubes, while the small workbowl processes up to three cups. Those are the practical figures to use for planning, rather than assuming the 12-cup nominal volume is a safe load for every recipe.

The product page calls out a wide-mouth chute and pusher; the manual describes a large chute and a multifunction feed chute that locks as part of the safety interlock. The booklet does not publish a numeric opening width or a specific whole-produce size guarantee. The reversible disc handles slicing and shredding, but no cut thickness or shred-grade measurements are stated. It is a straightforward disc system rather than an adjustable slicer or a grid-dicing kit.

Dough capability has real limits

The dedicated dough blade is one of the strongest reasons to consider this configuration. The manual says not to prepare recipes with more than 3½ cups flour and says to knead no longer than one minute. It also explains that the dough blade does not reach the outside rim of the bowl, so very small flour quantities may not be incorporated; for pastry or mixtures with less than two cups flour, it recommends the metal blade instead. In other words, the machine has a distinct dough tool, but that does not mean every dough size should use it or that larger recipes are supported.

The stop/pulse button has a separate instruction not to hold it longer than two minutes. That is not a general continuous-motor ceiling: low and high are described as running until stopped, and the booklet does not give a universal run-time limit for those speeds. If your essential requirement is a printed continuous-on interval, the manual does not establish one for this configuration. For pulse chopping, it recommends short bursts, watching texture to avoid over-processing. Do not read the three-second? limit as a motor duty cycle; the meat instruction is five-second pulses, with pauses to let the blades stop.

Assembly and care take more attention than a one-bowl chopper

The larger bowl, nested bowl and two chopping blades add useful options but create more parts to seat correctly. The manual’s assembly sequence locks the main bowl first; the small bowl sits into the larger bowl with tabs, and the cover, feed chute and pusher must engage the interlock. The pusher guides food rather than forcing it. Sharp blades and disc edges need careful handling. Removable parts may be hand-washed or cleaned on the dishwasher’s top rack; the motor base is wiped and must not be immersed. Rinsing the blade shaft promptly is sensible because food can collect around it.

The warranty wording is inconsistent across the exact sources, including within the bilingual booklet. The Canadian product page lists a two-year limited warranty. The English warranty section in the FP5050SC booklet says three years for the U.S. and Canada, while its French warranty section says two years for the U.S. and Canada. Do not assume the longer English wording controls: check the terms attached to a specific purchase and retain the receipt. The booklet excludes, among other items, use or service outside the country of purchase.

Who should compare it with a different package?

FP5050SC makes sense as a reference for a household that values both disc work and a nested bowl for shorter chopping tasks, and expects occasional dough within the documented flour range. It is less compelling if one extra bowl is the main priority: the nested vessel shares the large bowl assembly and only has a three-cup task capacity. For a U.S. dough-and-disc comparison, the Breville BFP710 is a separately reviewed 12-cup package with a dough tool, while the BFP838 combines a larger bowl with a separate small-batch vessel. Their exact packages are different; neither establishes that FP5050SC is sold as a U.S. SKU.

Bottom line: FP5050SC’s meaningful strengths are the main bowl, genuinely nested small workbowl, reversible disc and dedicated dough blade. Its most useful constraints are an eight-cup dry-food guideline for the large bowl, three-cup task limit for the nested bowl, a 3½-cup flour maximum and a one-minute kneading limit. Do not confuse its stop/pulse button limit with a general continuous-run allowance, and verify the regional warranty and carton details rather than treating the English and French booklet wording or Canadian product page as perfectly aligned.

Sources: BLACK+DECKER Canada’s FP5050SC product page and the exact-model FP5050SC Use and Care booklet.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity12 cups
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedYes
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
More specifications and setup details
Additional work bowl confirmedYes
Manufacturer-rated motor power550 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.