Model assessment · Hamilton Beach

Hamilton Beach 8-Cup Bowl Food Processor (White) review

A current U.S. household processor with an eight-cup dry-ingredient bowl, 300-watt motor, chopping/mixing blade and reversible slicing/shredding disc. Its linked manual limits liquids to two cups, lists task-specific smaller chopping amounts and does not support bread or cookie dough, spice grinding or crushing ice.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

White Hamilton Beach 70450 8-cup food processor with clear handled bowl and standard feed chute
Exact U.S. 70450 page-linked image. It shows the white base/control labels, clear handled bowl and standard tall feed chute/pusher; illustrative only, with maker photography/composite/render status undisclosed. Hamilton Beach US
A useful fit for

A useful comparison for households that regularly chop, puree, slice or shred in moderate batches and want one standard chute, a two-sided disc and one bowl. The manual's 8-cup rating describes dry ingredients; its smaller food-by-food chart, 2-cup liquid limit and one-minute run ceiling should guide batch planning.

The main tradeoff

The reversible disc adds real slicing and shredding work, but does not provide a dedicated dicing, French-fry, adjustable-slice or continuous-feed attachment. The manual explicitly rules out bread/cookie dough, ice crushing and grinding grain, coffee or spices. Height, footprint and top-rack placement are not established. A product-page 2 + Pulse claim conflicts with the manual's On/Pulse description, so a second running speed is not treated as verified.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is an eight-cup bowl the size you want for routine dry-food prep?

The manual gives 8 cups for dry ingredients but only 2 cups for liquids. Its chopping chart caps fruit and vegetables at 1 lb or 2–3 cups, so do not treat the bowl rating as a universal batch promise.

Explore this need in the finder →
If you need diced pieces, can a reversible slicing/shredding disc replace a dicing grid?

No. The package includes a reversible slicer/shredder, not a dicing grid. Its manual describes a two-pass restacking method for julienne-like strips, which is not cube dicing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would you require hard-spice grinding from this processor?

No. The 70450 booklet says not to grind grain, coffee beans or spices. A small chopper with a separately documented Grind mode is a better fit when that is essential.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the 70450 handle your yeast-dough routine?

No. Its manual expressly says not to make bread or cookie dough; it does not provide a manual-supported universal-blade yeast-dough plan.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must every removable part be confirmed safe for the dishwasher top rack?

The exact booklet says the removable bowl, lid, blade, disc and pusher may be washed in a dishwasher, but it does not specify top-rack placement. A strict top-rack requirement is therefore unconfirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a strict height limit essential for storage?

The exact page and booklet inspected do not give body height. An essential cabinet height limit cannot be verified from a sibling or image; measure the exact unit and leave clearance for the pusher.

Explore this need in the finder →

An eight-cup dry bowl with a useful, fairly simple tool set

Hamilton Beach’s current U.S. listing calls the white 70450 an 8-cup processor with a chopping/mixing blade and reversible slice/shred disc. Its exact linked 40-page multilingual booklet identifies model 70450, type FP12, and 120 V/60 Hz/300 W. The eight-cup figure is for dry ingredients; the booklet limits liquid to two cups. It is a corded bowl processor, not a spice grinder or dough machine.

The 70450 fits routine chopping, slicing and shredding when a standard feed chute and simple On/Pulse control suit your prep. But the eight-cup rating does not license eight cups of every food as one batch. For mostly liquid sauce, large chopped-vegetable loads or dough, check task limits before choosing by the headline.

Read the task chart before relying on the cup label

The manual’s chopping chart caps fruit and vegetables at one pound or two to three cups. It lists 12 ounces or 1.5 cups cooked cubed meat, five ounces Parmesan/Romano and eight ounces Cheddar/Jack/Mozzarella. Those task amounts matter more than the bowl rating if you regularly mince or puree. Leave room for chopped food to move and cut pieces to similar sizes for a more even result.

For disc work, the booklet describes one side of the reversible tool as the slicer and the other as the shredder. It does not give a millimeter cutting thickness or document a dial-adjustable disc. Its firm-cheese instruction is specific: chill the cheese for about 30 minutes before slicing or shredding. For julienne-like strips it describes two passes—slice, remove and restack the vegetables, then feed the stack vertically. That is a slower manual sequence than expecting a dedicated julienne accessory or dicing grid.

Simple controls, but note one manufacturer-page discrepancy

The exact manual describes a rotary control that selects ON for continuous running or PULSE for brief, on-and-off control. The product page’s specification table separately labels the processor “2 + Pulse”; the manual does not describe two running speeds. The safest comparison is therefore the manual’s explicit ON/PULSE directions, not an assumption about an undocumented low/high setting. Pulse is useful when you want to stop and check chopped texture, but the booklet still sets a maximum of one minute of operation at a time and says to rest about a minute before continuing if processing large quantities.

That run limit matters more than motor wattage for a long, uninterrupted task. The booklet says not to crush ice, grind grain, coffee or spices, slice frozen meat, or make bread or cookie dough; it also warns that starchy vegetables such as potatoes can turn gummy if pureed. This is a practical everyday processor, not a substitute for a dry mill, a dough-capable machine or a high-volume blender. Broad performance language on the product page does not override those task-specific prohibitions.

What the 70450 does better than a compact chopper

Compared with Cuisinart’s four-cup DLC-4CHB, the 70450 has a larger rated bowl and a feed chute with a pusher, plus a reversible slicer/shredder disc. The DLC-4CHB instead has a separate Chop/Grind control and a one-cup nut amount listed under Chop; it has no slicing or shredding disc. Those are different jobs, not simply an eight-cup versus four-cup contest. If you mainly mince small quantities or want a dedicated Grind setting, see the DLC-4CHB assessment. If you need larger documented dough capacity, the Cuisinart FP-110 and some KitchenAid plans have manual-supported dough options that the 70450 explicitly does not.

When answering the finder, an eight-cup bowl minimum can include the 70450, but that result reports nominal bowl size, not eight cups of chopped produce or liquid. A Grind requirement, universal-blade yeast dough, extra-large feed tube, included dicing grid, adjustable slicing disc, or second continuous-feed assembly should remove it. The standard chute lets a cook feed pieces with the pusher; it is not evidence of a separate continuous-feed setup. The removable bowl, lid, chopping blade and disc are described as dishwasher-safe, but the manual does not specify top-rack placement, so a strict top-rack requirement remains unconfirmed. The exact body height is also not listed in the inspected product specifications or booklet; an essential cabinet-height limit cannot be guessed.

Who should compare it—and what remains unknown

The 70450 is worth comparing if your repeating work is a modest amount of chopping, pureeing, slicing or shredding and the task chart matches your batch. Its on-page current Add to Cart control confirms it is currently offered by the maker, but this review records no price or availability promise. The exact manufacturer image is a white 70450 body with a clear bowl, feed chute and pusher; it is illustrative and does not replace the manual’s package inventory. Hamilton Beach does not say whether that staged image is a photograph, composite or rendering. The review is based on the maker’s exact page and linked booklet—not hands-on testing, performance measurements or owner reports.

The booklet permits washing the removable bowl, lid, blade, disc and pusher in a dishwasher, while the base, controls and cord should be wiped rather than immersed. It cautions against storing the lid locked in place because that can strain the interlock tab. Replacement pusher, disc, bowl, lid and blade listings on the exact product page are service parts; the belt is labeled for use outside the USA. None is an extra machine or proof that a second bowl comes in the box. Consult the 70450 product listing and its Use & Care booklet for the maker's current package and operating directions.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity8 cups
Extra-large feed tube identifiedNo
Manual work-bowl volume1.9 L
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Household power supply120 V, 60 Hz household supply; 300 W; corded
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power300 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.