Model assessment · BLACK+DECKER

BLACK+DECKER Easy Assembly 8-Cup Food Processor FP4100B review

An 8-cup, 450-watt Easy Assembly package with the listed stainless S-blade and reversible metal slice/shred disc; its shared manual supplies handling and fill limits but no numeric motor-on ceiling.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

BLACK+DECKER FP4100B black 8-cup processor with clear bowl, tall pusher and control panel
BLACK+DECKER’s FP4100B product-page image shows the black base, 8-cup bowl, lid and pusher. The manufacturer does not disclose whether this studio-style image is a photograph, composite or render. BLACK+DECKER U.S.
A useful fit for

Choose FP4100B when an 8-cup bowl, an S-blade and a two-sided slicing/shredding disc cover the work you actually repeat. The exact page also describes a lid-locking Easy Assembly design, and the linked manual explains safe setup, short-pulse meat processing and a marked maximum fill level. Its 15.2-inch body height is useful for a first storage check.

The main tradeoff

The 8-cup label is not a task-specific batch promise. The manual advises filling only around one-half to two-thirds for efficient processing and gives a two-cup, five-second-pulse limit for cold ¾-inch meat pieces. It does not document dicing, a separate dough tool, a numeric continuous motor-on interval or separate wet/liquid ceiling. Top-rack care is documented for removable components; the motor base is not immersed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Will the 8-cup bowl and reversible slice/shred disc cover a routine without dicing?

FP4100B lists an 8-cup work bowl, S-blade and reversible slicing/shredding disc. The package does not list a grid dicer.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a printed continuous-run ceiling essential?

The shared FP4100/FP4200 manual gives task instructions but no numeric continuous motor-on limit, so a chosen interval is not confirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the listed body height fit a 15.25-inch storage opening?

The exact FP4100B page lists 15.2 inches high. Measure your installed clearance and lid/pusher access rather than assuming storage height is operating clearance.

Explore this need in the finder →

An eight-cup bowl with two different tools

The BLACK+DECKER FP4100B is the 8-cup Easy Assembly model shown in the current licensed brand collection. Its exact product page specifies an 8-cup, 1.9-liter bowl, 450-watt motor, 120-volt supply, 15.2-inch height, 9.7-inch length, 9.4-inch width and a two-year limited warranty. Those are manufacturer specifications rather than independent performance measurements. The box described by its use-and-care book is a straightforward set: one bowl, cover and pusher, an S-shaped chopping blade, a reversible slice/shred disc, center shaft and motor base.

The practical choice is whether that blade-and-disc combination suits the work you actually repeat. The chopping blade handles chopping, mincing, mixing and pureeing; the reversible disc changes between slicing and shredding. This is not an included dicing grid, French-fry cutter, adjustable slicer or separate second-bowl kit. If those tools are essential, a similar bowl label is not enough—compare packages that itemize them. The reversible disc provides two sides, not a user-adjusted thickness dial, and its exact millimeter cut is not stated in the sources reviewed.

Set the lid before you plan a batch

Assembly is the model’s clearest convenience feature. The maker says the work bowl sits on the base and the cover twists to lock; the manual likewise requires the bowl and cover to be aligned before the unit runs. That interlock is useful for routine setup, but it also means the assembly has to be complete before processing. Put the center shaft in the bowl, fit either blade or disc, close and lock the cover, then guide food with the pusher. The manual says to keep fingers out of the chute and to wait for a blade or disc to stop before opening.

Rated capacity should not be treated as a universal batch amount. For efficient chopping, the manual advises filling only about one-half to two-thirds full and never crossing the marked maximum food level. It gives one particularly concrete ceiling: process no more than two cups of cold ¾-inch meat cubes at a time, using five-second pulses. That limit is about meat preparation; it is not evidence that every food can be processed at two cups, nor does it turn the bowl rating into a liquid maximum. The booklet permits hot but not boiling liquids, but does not publish a separate numeric liquid capacity for this package.

Use the controls for the job, not for speed claims

The common FP4100/FP4200 manual describes OFF, LOW, HIGH and press-and-hold PULSE. Pulse is the controlled choice for short chopping tasks, where stopping to let pieces fall can help you check texture. For the reversible disc, the booklet directs the user to LOW and light, steady pressure on the pusher. It also warns that pushing harder does not make the disc do its work faster. Those instructions help plan a small batch, but the manual does not give a certified continuous motor-on interval in seconds. A required 30- or 60-second continuous duty limit therefore remains unknown; a recipe lasting a minute is not a motor rating.

There are useful ingredient boundaries. The manual says not to process food so frozen or hard that a knife tip cannot enter it. It rules out grinding coffee beans, bones, grains and hard spices, and says not to slice or chop warm meat. Chopping nuts or other hard foods can scratch the bowl’s interior. If that sounds restrictive for your regular work, choose a model whose exact manual documents the task rather than relying on the 450-watt figure.

Cleanup and counter fit

The removable parts may be hand-washed or placed on the dishwasher’s top rack; hand-washing the plastic parts helps preserve their appearance. The motor base should be wiped rather than immersed, and the blade and disc need careful handling because their edges are sharp. The 15.2-inch published height is the first cabinet-clearance check. Measure the full path for lifting off a cover and pusher as well as the storage space; the dimension does not promise an easy under-cabinet workflow in every kitchen.

Where FP4100B fits in the family

Compare it with FP4200B-RFP if you want the exact 8-cup Easy Assembly counterpart: both appear in the same current collection and share the FP4100/FP4200 instruction book, while the other page uses a “3-in-1” name. That label does not by itself prove another accessory or a different task capacity. FP1600B is a separate 8-cup page that calls out a continuous-flow chute and storage lid; those named features need their own package interpretation. FP2500B steps up to a 10-cup bowl and wide-mouth feed opening, but its exact box list and manual raise separate questions about accessories and dough. The four-model comparison explains those distinctions.

FP4100B is a sensible fit when an 8-cup bowl, reversible slice/shred disc and simple blade work cover the planned menu, and top-rack cleanup is useful. It is not the right answer if you require dicing, a quantified continuous-run interval or a manual-listed liquid ceiling. This assessment is based on the exact product page and its linked manual, not hands-on testing; it does not claim measured speed, noise, cut quality or durability. Read the FP4100B product page and Use and care book.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity8 cups
Manual work-bowl volume1.9 L
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Published appliance height15.2 in
Household power supply120 V
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power450 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes
Published width9.4 in
Published depth/length9.7 in
Published weight5.8 lb
Limited warranty term2 years

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.