Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Would the included mayonnaise accessory change your small-batch routine?
The CH3012BK exact package page lists a mayonnaise attachment; the two eight-cup FP models do not list it.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a feed tube with a slicing/shredding disc essential?
CH3012BK is a small chopper package without the feed tube or slicing/shredding disc required for repeated ingredient slicing or grating.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the stated working amount itself important?
The model page gives a 0.5 L working capacity alongside a 4-cup name; the support manuals could not be inspected to extend this to other tasks or run limits.
Explore this need in the finder →A compact chopper with two different capacity labels
The Braun EasyPrep CH3012BK is a small blade-bowl chopper, not an eight-cup processor with a feed tube. Braun calls it a four-cup chopper and separately states a 0.5 L working capacity. Keep both descriptions in view: the four-cup model name is not a statement that every recipe can use four cups of ingredients. The working-capacity figure is more relevant when you are judging whether your usual small batch fits, although the exact manual's task-by-task amounts were not available for inspection.
The package page identifies a two-speed control, a four-layer QuadBlade, a mayonnaise attachment and the motor unit. It lists functions that include chopping, blending, puréeing, mincing and crushing ice. Braun's product page includes a percentage comparison for QuadBlade performance; that is the manufacturer's claim, not an independent test and not a measurement made here. This assessment does not promise a particular texture, speed, noise level or result.
What the mayonnaise attachment adds
The dedicated mayonnaise accessory is the clearest reason to consider this model over the two larger EasyPrep processors. It is an itemized package distinction rather than an assumed use of a regular blade. If you often prepare a small emulsified sauce or mayonnaise and want the attachment in the box, CH3012BK is the only one of the three observed Braun models listing it. If you mainly slice potatoes, shred vegetables or grate cheese, the two eight-cup processors are better aligned because their package lists include feed-tube discs.
Do not assume that the accessory makes the chopper's working volume larger, or that it authorizes a particular amount of oil or egg. The support page links two instruction documents, but the official files returned access-denied responses when checked. That means a specific recipe capacity, operating sequence and care instructions remain unverified. If a mayonnaise batch size or cleaning rule is essential, obtain the current CH3012BK instructions before you rely on it.
Fit and footprint without over-reading them
Braun publishes a body size of 5.51 by 5.33 by 10.55 inches and a weight of 2.6 lb. Those measurements describe the listed appliance dimensions, but they do not tell you how much vertical room is needed to take off the vessel or access its contents. The unit is compact beside an eight-cup bowl processor, yet it still needs dry, secure storage for the blade assembly and attachment. Its page lists 120 V, but does not state a motor-watt figure in the specifications reviewed.
The bowl's 0.5 L working-capacity figure is distinct from the four-cup model name and from the larger EasyPrep processors' eight-cup ratings. If your question is “will it fit a large batch,” compare task-specific capacities rather than bowl names. The available page does not supply those task limits. Unknown dishwasher placement, continuous run time, rest requirements and overload guidance should stay unknown; do not copy directions from FP3101BK or FP3211SI just because the nameplate says EasyPrep.
Choose a chopper or a feed-tube processor?
Pick CH3012BK for a compact chopping workflow when the mayonnaise accessory is useful and the documented working capacity sounds appropriate. Pick FP3101BK when slicing or grating with a reversible disc is a recurring job; its page lists an eight-cup bowl, knife blade and 4 mm slice/grate disc. Pick FP3211SI when a fixed 2 mm disc or included dough tool changes the package choice. These options are not simple step-ups in one shared capability: they package different tools and working formats.
CH3012BK has no listed slicing/shredding disc, dicing grid, dough tool, whisk, second work bowl, French-fry disc or feed-tube attachment. The manufacturer's description of ice-crushing is retained as a product-page statement, but the missing manual prevents a verified batch size or run plan for that task. If any of those tasks are essential, a more fully documented processor package may be a safer choice than relying on a broad multifunction label.
Limits and verification
The exact U.S. product page and official support page identify CH3012BK; the current category page also lists this model alongside FP3101BK and FP3211SI. The product image linked from Braun's page shows a black motor unit over a clear compact bowl. It does not visibly prove every accessory. Braun does not disclose whether this image is photography, a composite or a render, so it is presented as illustrative product imagery rather than a package checklist.
This is not a personal-use review and includes no lab measurements, owner reports, prices, rankings or durability conclusions. Its practical recommendation is conditional: use the product if the small 0.5 L working capacity, blade-bowl format and mayonnaise attachment answer your real routine; choose one of the larger processors if a feed tube and reversible cutting disc matter more. Ask for the exact current guide when batch caps, cleaning, duty cycle or storage guidance would change your decision.
Compare the three observed Braun EasyPrep packages · Read the FP3101BK assessment · Read the FP3211SI assessment.
Key details at a glance
| Rated work-bowl capacity | 4 cups |
|---|---|
| Extra-large feed tube identified | No |
| Dicing kit included | No |
| French-fry disc included | No |
| Dough blade included | No |
| Refrigerator lid included | No |
| Whisk accessory included | No |
| Fine/thin and medium shredding options included | No |
| Thin/medium/thick disc set included | No |
| Dedicated thick-slicing disc included | No |
| Published appliance height | 10.55 in |
| Household power supply | 120 V |
| Additional work bowl confirmed | No |
| Adjustable slicing disc included | No |
| Medium shredding disc included | No |
| Continuous-feed attachment included | No |
| Manufacturer-published working capacity | 0.5 L |
| Mayonnaise attachment included | Yes |
| QuadBlade layers listed | 4 layers |
| Slicing/shredding disc included | No |
| Published width | 5.33 in |
| Published depth/length | 5.51 in |
| Published weight | 2.6 lb |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Choose a tool set for your usual prep.
Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.
