Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Mini-Mate Plus 9-Ounce Chopper/Grinder MM-2M review

A discontinued, very small corded chopper/grinder with a nine-ounce bowl, separate high and low buttons and one blade that must be manually oriented sharp-edge or blunt-edge before use. Its booklet limits use to 30 seconds at a time and small batches.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

White Cuisinart Mini-Mate Plus MM-2M 9-ounce chopper/grinder with clear bowl and reversible blade
Exact White MM-2M manufacturer image manually inspected on 2026-10-25. It depicts the branded motor housing, transparent nine-ounce bowl and one blade; it is not a package checklist. Photography/render method is not disclosed. Cuisinart U.S.
A useful fit for

An earlier, corded chopper for very small chopped or ground batches when a nine-ounce bowl, physical blade orientation, HI/LO controls and a strict short duty cycle all fit the job.

The main tradeoff

The 30-second operating limit and tablespoon-scale batch advice rule out routine full-recipe processing. Bowl capacity in cups, wattage, dimensions and nut-batch limit are not published in the reviewed sources; it has no feed tube or slicing/shredding tools.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does a manual-approved 30-second run fit your small-batch routine?

Yes, if you accept the MM-2M booklet's stricter overall cycle limit too: no more than one minute per five minutes or three minutes per hour.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a documented grinding function in a tiny bowl chopper?

The manual describes grinding with the blade's blunt edge, but the operator must set the blade position before use; it is not an automatic Grind reversal.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must removable bowl parts be safe on the top rack?

The manual allows all parts except the motor housing on the dishwasher's top rack; remove and handle the sharp blade by its hub.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart Mini-Mate Plus MM-2M is not a small version of a full processor so much as a deliberately tiny, corded chopper/grinder. Cuisinart identifies a transparent nine-ounce bowl, a reversible chopping/grinding blade, separate high and low speeds, a spatula and an instruction booklet. The exact U.S. page calls this white model discontinued and out of stock. Its compact size is useful only if your usual batch is genuinely small; the manual repeatedly steers the cook toward tablespoons and multiple batches, not bowl-filling quantities.

The blade setup is manual, not an automatic Grind mode

The short instruction booklet explains the key distinction: this blade has two working positions. The sharp edge is used for chopping and the blunt edge for grinding, and the operator places the blade in the proper orientation before use. Two buttons on the motor housing select high or low speed. That is different from a modern chopper with a separate touchpad that automatically reverses a blade when you choose Chop or Grind. It can handle small dry grinding jobs such as coffee or spices, but you must stop, unplug, and safely reorient the blade rather than expecting one-button reversal.

Capacity needs a more careful reading than the nine-ounce label suggests. The manufacturer page confirms the bowl size, while the booklet says to batch foods above one or two tablespoons and warns against overloading. It does not provide a general cup capacity or a universal ingredient fill line that I can use to meet a numeric minimum-bowl preference. The finder therefore leaves capacity in cups unknown: if you require a stated two-, three-, or four-cup bowl, this model should not pass merely because nine ounces can be converted arithmetically. It is better understood as a small-job tool.

Follow the unusually strict duty-cycle limit

The manual says not to run the MM-2M for more than 30 seconds at a time, more than one minute out of any five-minute period, or more than three minutes in an hour. That is more useful for planning than the old high-speed motor description. For chopping, short pulses help avoid turning food watery; the manual advises cutting larger pieces into roughly half-inch pieces and doing larger quantities in batches. Its hard-food guidance also warns that coffee beans and similar ingredients may cloud the bowl. These are real operating limits, not measured performance claims.

Cleanup is simpler than the blade handling. The exact manual says the work bowl, blade and spatula can go on the dishwasher's top rack, with the blade placed in the cutlery basket; the motor housing is the exception and should not be washed this way. Let the blade stop completely, unplug, and handle it by its hub. The manufacturer lists a two-year limited warranty for household use. Because this model is discontinued and out of stock, check condition, model stamp and replacement parts before valuing a used unit; the page's standard kit is not a guarantee that a secondhand listing still includes the blade, lid or spatula.

Match its small-batch job, not a full processor workflow

The MM-2M has no documented feed tube, slicing or shredding disc, dicing grid, second bowl, dough tool or full-size work plan. If you need slicing, batch shredding, dough or more than a couple of tablespoons at a time, compare a larger processor. The current Cuisinart ECH-4SV, for example, has a four-cup bowl and an auto-reversing Chop/Grind blade; it is a different operating plan with more bowl capacity, not a direct replacement for this nine-ounce unit. A one-cup chopper such as the MM-2M may still be easier to keep available for a pinch of herbs, garlic, nuts or seasoning.

In the finder, selecting an earlier model and asking for a documented Grind function can keep the MM-2M in view. A 30-second minimum continuous interval is supported, but a 60-second requirement is not. A four-cup minimum should not match because this model's capacity in cups is unconfirmed and the exact bowl is much smaller. The page and manual support the important boundaries—nine ounces, two speeds, two blade orientations, short work periods and top-rack care. They do not establish wattage, dimensions or a reliable maximum batch size for every food; this review does not infer them.

Key details at a glance

Extra-large feed tube identifiedNo
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Household power supplyCorded household appliance; the booklet describes a polarized plug but does not state voltage.
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedYes
Slicing/shredding disc includedNo
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.