Model assessment · GE Appliances

GE 12-Cup Food Processor review

An earlier 12-cup GE processor with a 550-watt motor, two speed settings, pulse and separate fine and medium slicing/shredding discs.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

GE marks G8P0AASSPSS no longer manufactured. Availability, clearance stock, and parts supply can change; check the exact model and seller terms before purchase.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

GE G8P0AASSPSS stainless food processor with clear 12-cup bowl and feed tube
GE's exact-model G8P0AASSPSS product image. The manufacturer does not disclose whether it is a photograph, composite or rendering; the image is illustrative, not a test result. GE Appliances
A useful fit for

A practical earlier 12-cup option if the wanted jobs are ordinary chopping, batch slicing/shredding and manual-supported small yeast-dough batches. The exact manual supports fine and medium disc choices and gives a usable 2.5-cup flour ceiling for white bread or pizza dough, even though this package does not list the separate dough blade supplied with G8P1.

The main tradeoff

The 12-cup label overstates neither task capacity nor included specialization: the manual lowers produce, liquid, meat and flour maxima by task. There is no included French-fry disc, mini-bowl, dedicated dough blade, whisk, dicing kit or storage caddy in the exact G8P0 package. GE marks the model no longer manufactured, while current clearance listing status does not promise stock or future parts access.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need a 12-cup bowl with both fine and medium shredding/slicing options?

Yes. GE's model-specific manual lists fine and medium shredding/slicing discs for G8P0AASSPSS. The manual recommends no more than 10 cups for sliced or shredded produce, so bowl capacity is not the batch limit for that task.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the G8P0 handle the manual's listed bread or pizza dough flour amount without a separate dough blade?

The use instructions identify the supplied general blade as a chopping/mixing/dough blade, and the task chart lists 2.5 cups of all-purpose or bread flour for white-bread or pizza dough. The model-specific accessory table does not list a separate dedicated dough blade.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does this package include a French-fry disc or separate mini-bowl?

No. The G8P0 model-specific table lists its two slicing/shredding discs. The broader G8P1 package lists a fry disc and mini-bowl; those accessories should not be transferred to G8P0.

Explore this need in the finder →

The GE G8P0AASSPSS is an earlier 12-cup food processor with a 550-watt motor, Low, High and Pulse controls, and two model-specific slicing/shredding discs. Its appeal is a comparatively straightforward tool set, not a long list of specialty attachments. GE marks the model no longer manufactured; that is a lifecycle note, not proof that every retailer has run out or that spare parts are unavailable.

Use the task chart, not just the 12-cup label

The bowl is rated at 12 cups, but GE's manual makes the practical distinction many capacity labels leave out: different foods have different batch ceilings. It lists up to 10 cups of sliced or shredded produce, cheese or fruit, but only 4 cups chopped. Cooked fruit or vegetables are listed at 3 cups before puréeing, yielding 1½ cups of purée. Chopped or puréed meat, fish or seafood is capped at 1½ pounds, and thin liquids at 7 cups. Those smaller limits are the useful planning figures for a particular recipe; they are not defects or evidence that the bowl is smaller.

The same chart allows 2½ cups of all-purpose or bread flour for white-bread or pizza dough and 3 cups of nuts or nut butter. Treat those as manual-specific task amounts, not a promise that every dough or nut recipe will behave the same way. If you need to process larger flour batches, another model's higher manual-listed flour amount may matter more than its headline wattage or bowl capacity.

Two disc choices without a specialty fry tool

The G8P0-specific accessory table names fine and medium shredding/slicing discs. That gives you two documented cutting options for ordinary produce and cheese prep; GE does not state a measured slice thickness for either one. A French-fry disc, dicing grid, crinkle disc and adjustable thickness dial are not listed for this package. If grid-cut cubes or a shaped fry cut are essential, do not interpret the word “processor” or the photograph as evidence of the right accessory.

The second GE package, G8P1AASSPSS, keeps the 12-cup bowl and 550-watt motor but adds a French-fry disc, a dedicated dough blade, a mini-bowl and mini S-blade, plus grating and emulsifying discs and a spatula. It is the more specialized package if those tools will see use. GE's manual does not give the fry disc's cut width or the mini-bowl's cup capacity, so G8P1 should not be treated as a quantified match for either measurement.

Simple controls, but no published run timer

The knob selects Low, High or Pulse. The manual describes Low and High as running until you turn the knob back to Off; Pulse runs only while engaged, generally in short, about one-second presses. Low is recommended for dough and batters, while High is recommended for most other chopping and disc work. GE does not provide a numeric continuous-run limit in the instructions I reviewed. That unknown should remain unknown rather than being converted into an assumed duty cycle.

The product page lists 550 watts, a 120-volt/60-Hz supply and a grounded three-prong plug. A wattage figure does not establish processing speed, noise or durability. The listed body is 16 inches high, 11.4 wide and 10.3 deep; leave room above the chute and for the two discs when planning storage. A cord-storage feature is listed, and the stainless appearance is compatible with a visible counter setup, although the broad base still needs a shelf or cabinet footprint.

Care and package checks before buying

The manual says every removable piece except the housing base is dishwasher-safe and recommends the top rack only. Bottom-rack heat may damage the work bowl, cover or accessories over time. Rinse the bowl and pusher promptly, unplug before cleaning, keep water away from the motor base, and handle the metal blade and discs as sharp parts. The bowl is SAN plastic and should not go in a microwave. These are useful everyday ownership instructions, especially if you expect to use several discs in one prep session.

G8P0 makes sense when your essentials are a 12-cup main bowl, two fine/medium disc choices, ordinary chopping, and a documented small dough batch with the supplied general blade. It is less suitable if you require a dedicated dough blade, a French-fry cutter, a second bowl or a dicing kit. For any earlier-model purchase, match the complete G8P0AASSPSS code rather than a similar-looking GE box, then verify which discs and bowl are physically included. G8P1's broader tool list is a reason to compare, not a reason to assume accessories transfer between models.

Bottom line: G8P0 is the simpler GE 12-cup package: 550 watts, two speeds plus pulse, fine and medium discs, and a manual chart that keeps real task sizes below the bowl rating. Choose it for those documented routines; step up to G8P1 only when the additional supplied tools fit your actual prep.

Sources: GE's exact G8P0AASSPSS product page, its model-specific Owner Center, and the GE Food Processor Use and Care Manual (49-9000012 Rev. 3, April 2021). GE specifications and manual directions are not independent performance tests.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity12 cups
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedYes
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Published appliance height16 in
Household power supply120 V, 60 Hz household power
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power550 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedYes
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Manual-listed nut batch capacity3 cups
Crinkle-cut disc includedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes
Published width11.4 in
Published depth/length10.3 in
Published weight3 lb
Limited warranty term1 years

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.