Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need a dedicated French-fry disc on a 12-cup processor?
Yes. The G8P1 model-specific manual list includes a French-fry disc alongside its fine and medium shredding/slicing discs. GE does not state a cut width in the sources reviewed, so it cannot promise a numeric fry thickness.
Explore this need in the finder →Will you use a separate mini-bowl as well as the main bowl?
G8P1 includes a mini-bowl and mini S-blade. The manual does not give the mini-bowl's cup volume; the published 12-cup rating belongs to the main work bowl.
Explore this need in the finder →Does G8P1 satisfy a dedicated dough-blade need with the documented flour limit?
Yes. Its exact accessory row lists a dough blade and the manual's white-bread/pizza dough table allows 2.5 cups all-purpose or bread flour. That is a task-specific cap, not the 12-cup bowl rating.
Explore this need in the finder →The GE G8P1AASSPSS is an earlier 12-cup countertop processor whose package is meaningfully broader than the G8P0's. Both use a listed 550-watt motor, Low/High/Pulse knob and same-size main bowl, but G8P1 adds a French-fry disc, a dedicated dough blade, a mini-bowl with mini S-blade, grating and emulsifying discs, and a spatula. Buy into those tools only if they match your regular prep; they also add pieces to wash, store and identify.
Capacity is a task-by-task question
GE rates the main work bowl at 12 cups, or 96 ounces. The shared manual's task chart sets lower ceilings for specific work: 10 cups of sliced or shredded fruit, vegetables or cheese; 4 cups chopped produce; 3 cups cooked produce before puréeing; 1½ pounds meat, fish or seafood; and 7 cups thin liquid. For dough it lists 2½ cups of all-purpose or bread flour for white-bread or pizza dough, while nuts or nut butter are listed at 3 cups. These separate limits matter more than treating 12 cups as a universal safe batch size.
The included mini-bowl is an additional small-work setup, not another 12-cup bowl. GE's manual does not give its capacity in cups, so don't assume its volume from the photograph or compare it numerically with a measured small chopper. It is useful as a separate tool path for smaller amounts, but the exact quantity still needs to fit the manual's instructions and the bowl markings.
What the accessory kit changes
The model-specific G8P1 manual lists fine and medium shredding/slicing discs, a French-fry disc, separate dough blade, mini-bowl, mini S-blade, emulsifying disc, grating disc and spatula. That combination supports a wider mix of slicing, grating, specialty fry cuts, small-batch work and dough preparation than the simpler G8P0. The manual does not specify the fry cut's width, and neither the fry disc label nor a product image establishes a measured thickness. If you need a precise cut size, this is not a documented numeric fit.
The extra kit still does not make G8P1 a grid dicer, crinkle cutter, whisk or adjustable slicer. The fine and medium discs are two named options; they are not a three-disc thin/medium/thick set and not a dial-adjustable disc. The manual's French-fry disc is also distinct from a grid-dicing kit. If cubes, ridged slices or cream-whipping are mandatory, choose a configuration whose exact package lists that task's tool.
G8P0 is the closest comparison: it keeps the same bowl rating and motor, includes fine and medium slicing/shredding discs, and allows the manual's 2½-cup flour amount with its general chopping/mixing/dough blade. It does not list G8P1's separate dough blade, fry disc or mini-bowl. So G8P1's premium is about tools, not more bowl capacity or a higher published motor rating.
Controls and work limits
The mechanical knob offers Low, High and Pulse. GE says Low and High run until Off is selected; Pulse runs only while you engage it, normally with about one-second presses. Low is recommended for doughs and batters; High for most other chopping and slicing/shredding tasks. The manual gives no numeric continuous-ON ceiling, so a requested minimum run time cannot be verified from these directions. Wattage alone is not a substitute for a manual limit or independent test.
GE lists the G8P1 body at 16 inches high, 12.2 wide and 10.3 deep. That is the same height and depth as G8P0 but 0.8 inch wider. Measure the counter or cabinet with room for the chute and pusher, then consider where the several discs and small-bowl parts will live. No storage caddy is included in the package list I reviewed.
Cleaning and lifecycle caveat
The manual calls the work bowl SAN plastic and says it is not microwave-safe. Removable parts other than the housing base may be washed in a dishwasher, with GE recommending the top rack only; bottom-rack heat can cause damage over time. Rinse parts promptly, unplug before cleaning, keep the motor base dry, and handle discs and blades carefully. The dedicated dough blade is a separate attachment, not a license to exceed the manual's flour limit.
GE's product page currently marks G8P1 as no longer manufactured, while its Owner Center still displays a manufactured-through-present range. Those official lifecycle displays conflict, so this assessment treats G8P1 as an earlier comparison model and does not promise availability. Check the full G8P1AASSPSS code, seller terms and included parts. G8P1 fits a buyer who will use its fry disc, dedicated dough blade and mini-bowl; someone who mainly chops and slices may find G8P0's smaller set easier to store and maintain.
Bottom line: The extra tools make G8P1 a more versatile package on paper, not a larger-capacity machine. Use GE's task chart for batch planning, and do not infer a measured fry width, mini-bowl volume or extra dicing function that the sources do not state.
Sources: GE's exact G8P1AASSPSS product page, its model-specific Owner Center, and the GE Food Processor Use and Care Manual (49-9000012 Rev. 3, April 2021). The manual separately labels G8PKAASSRSS as an accessory kit, not a processor.
Key details at a glance
| Rated work-bowl capacity | 12 cups |
|---|---|
| Dicing kit included | No |
| French-fry disc included | Yes |
| Dough blade included | Yes |
| Refrigerator lid included | No |
| Whisk accessory included | No |
| Fine/thin and medium shredding options included | Yes |
| Thin/medium/thick disc set included | No |
| Dedicated thick-slicing disc included | No |
| Published appliance height | 16 in |
| Household power supply | 120 V, 60 Hz household power |
| Drizzle basin included | No |
| Additional work bowl confirmed | Yes |
| Manufacturer-rated motor power | 550 W |
| Adjustable slicing disc included | No |
| Medium shredding disc included | Yes |
| Removable parts dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| Continuous-feed attachment included | No |
| Dedicated Grind function documented | No |
| Manual-listed nut batch capacity | 3 cups |
| Crinkle-cut disc included | No |
| Slicing/shredding disc included | Yes |
| Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable parts | Yes |
| Published width | 12.2 in |
| Published depth/length | 10.3 in |
| Published weight | 3 lb |
| Limited warranty term | 1 years |
| Grating disc/function explicitly included | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Choose a tool set for your usual prep.
Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.
