Model assessment · KitchenAid

KitchenAid 5-Cup Chopper with Extra Bowl KFC0516CCU review

A current five-cup KFC0516 chopper configuration titled as an extra-bowl bundle; the product page's included-item list does not separately itemize the extra bowl.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

KitchenAid KFC0516-family red chopper shown in the feature image linked from the exact CCU extra-bowl bundle page
This KitchenAid feature asset is linked from the exact KFC0516CCU page but shows the red KFC0516-family appliance rather than a visible spare bowl. It is not package-proof; the manufacturer does not disclose whether it is a photograph, composite or rendering. KitchenAid US
A useful fit for

A possible fit for a shopper who wants the five-cup KFC0516 chopper's whisk and drizzle-basin functions and is willing to confirm the exact CCU box contents; the exact manufacturer page uses the extra-bowl title.

The main tradeoff

The title calls this an extra-work-bowl bundle, but the displayed included-item list does not enumerate a second bowl separately. An essential spare-bowl requirement is therefore unconfirmed; no second bowl, second lid or additional capacity is assumed in matching.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does KFC0516CCU provide the standard five-cup chopper and included whisk functions?

The exact CCU page describes the five-cup chopper and whisk; the KFC0516 manual supplies the corresponding operating guidance.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can a second work bowl be treated as a verified included item?

Not from the current page alone. The product title says extra bowl and lid, but its displayed included-item list does not separately identify a second bowl; confirm the actual package if this is essential.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does CCU include a drizzle basin for adding oil to a sauce?

Yes. The exact page includes a lid with drizzle basin and describes that use for condiments and dressings.

Explore this need in the finder →
Should you buy this if you need a clearly documented extra bowl now?

Not without confirming the exact package. The matching record deliberately leaves additional bowl inclusion unknown, so a hard spare-bowl request will not count it as a confirmed fit.

Explore this need in the finder →

An exact bundle name with a contents-list gap

KitchenAid currently lists model KFC0516CCU as the “5 Cup Food Chopper with Extra Work Bowl and Lid.” That exact model identity is useful: it tells you the manufacturer intends this to be a package distinction from the standard KFC0516 finishes. The live product page, however, does not make the added bowl easy to verify. Its section headed “Model KFC0516C Includes” says there are four included accessories and lists one five-cup bowl with handle, pour spout and lid, a lid with drizzle basin, a stainless multipurpose blade and a whisk. It does not separately enumerate a second work bowl and lid. The page title and the visible kit list therefore do not reconcile cleanly.

This is not a reason to assume the bundle does not exist: its exact product page and the current U.S. chopper directory both use the extra-bowl-and-lid name for KFC0516CCU. It is a reason to avoid treating the number of bowls as a settled, essential match. If a second work bowl is the purchase reason, confirm the seller's current contents against a written package list before ordering. The finder will not count this model as a confirmed spare-bowl match while its own list leaves the addition unspecified.

The underlying chopper is a five-cup, whisk-capable model

For everyday operation, the CCU page describes the same five-cup chopper functions and whisking feature as the standard KFC0516. It identifies a stainless multipurpose blade, bowl with a pour spout, drizzle-basin lid and a whisk. The official KFC0516 use-and-care guide is the relevant operating source: it identifies a 120 V, 60 Hz household chopper, explains the interlock, and recommends short pulses for coarse chopping. Its task chart advises up to three cups of raw vegetables, 2.5 cups of cooked produce and 0.7 pound (317 g) of raw meat at once; the whisk chart gives separate amounts for eggs or egg whites, cream and emulsions. A five-cup rating is not a guarantee that every one of those jobs should fill the bowl to its rim.

The guide says to cut larger foods into about one-inch pieces and warns against coffee beans or hard spices such as nutmeg. It also describes safe disassembly and top-rack care for the bowl, lid and blade. Since it does not expressly name the whisk in that dishwasher passage, do not extend the statement to that attachment. Keep hands away from the sharp blade, unplug before changing or removing parts, and wipe the motor base with a damp cloth rather than putting it in water.

When the extra bowl matters—and when it does not

If you already own a compatible chopper and the appeal is switching quickly between two recipes, an actually verified spare bowl can reduce the interruption of washing and drying between mixtures. That is the practical value the CCU title suggests. But the available manufacturer itemization does not establish whether the second bowl is supplied loose, whether it has its own lid beyond the listed drizzle-basin lid, or whether the list simply omits some pieces. Those details remain unknown here. Do not transfer spare-bowl assumptions from a retailer photo or an unverified marketplace listing into the model record.

If the additional bowl is not essential, the standard KFC0516ER family is easier to compare: its exact U.S. product pages name the five-cup bowl, multipurpose blade and whisk accessory. If you prefer a smaller bowl and do not need a whisk, KFC3516 has a simpler three-piece package. If the real need is a slicing or shredding disc rather than a second chopper bowl, a larger processor such as KFP0718 is a better category fit. These are different choices: an extra bowl changes the package workflow, while an added cutting disc changes what the machine can do.

Match the code, then check the actual offer

The product page labels KFC0516CCU Contour Silver in its URL and current title, but the documentation reviewed here does not support an image of a spare bowl or a precise number of bowls. The archived manufacturer feature image shows the red KFC0516-family appliance in a staged countertop scene, not the bundle contents. Its photographic or composited status is not disclosed, and it is not presented as proof of the second bowl. Verify that the exact CCU code appears on the seller's page and that the seller identifies the spare bowl before purchase; an ordinary KFC0516ER, CU, BM or WH offer is a different package identity.

This assessment is deliberately narrower than a hands-on review. It explains the documented KFC0516 platform and the mismatch between the CCU product title and its on-page inclusion list; it does not claim that the extra bowl is absent or present, nor that an unobserved retail box has been checked. In the matching questions, the model can fit a five-cup chopper and included-whisk routine, but an essential second-bowl requirement remains unconfirmed. A shopper who is comfortable verifying the bundle may still find the current model useful; a shopper who cannot accept ambiguity should choose a standard package with a documented single-bowl list or wait for a clearer exact-model list.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity5 cups
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedYes
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Household power supply120 V, 60 Hz
Drizzle basin includedYes
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.