Model assessment · Ninja

Ninja Foodi Power Blender Ultimate System SS401 review

A blender-and-processor hybrid that uses one 72-ounce pitcher for blending and processor discs, with a separate smoothie-bowl maker and nutrient-extraction cup.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Ninja Foodi Power Blender Ultimate System SS401 gray motor base with processor pitcher, smoothie-bowl vessel, extraction cup and included blade and disc assemblies
Exact SS401 U.S. manufacturer gallery main image. Its composition shows the gray base, shared processor/blender pitcher, smoothie bowl, nutrient cup and multiple tools; the maker does not disclose whether this is a photograph, composite or render. The itemized product listing, not the image, determines box contents. Ninja / SharkNinja U.S.
A useful fit for

Choose SS401 when you want a blender and food-prep system in one base and will use the processor-pitcher discs as well as its separate smoothie bowl or extraction cup. Its exact box includes slicing/shredding and grating tools, plus a dough blade.

The main tradeoff

Unlike a conventional processor with its own rated work bowl, SS401 uses the same 72-ounce pitcher for blending, chopping, dough and feed-chute discs; no numeric processor-disc maximum is published. The extra vessels and blades add washing and storage, while top-rack care and flour limits remain unconfirmed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is a rated, separate processor work bowl essential, rather than a processor-pitcher setup?

SS401's exact listing calls its 72-ounce vessel a Power Blender & Processor Pitcher and says the discs process directly in that pitcher. It also has separate smoothie and extraction vessels, but no separately rated processor bowl. The guide uses a DISC MAX line without a volume, so do not translate the 64-ounce maximum liquid line into a processor-batch or bowl-capacity figure.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the standard package include both a reversible slice/shred disc and a grater?

The exact SS401 package list includes a reversible slicing/shredding disc and a grating disc. The manual says the slice/shred face is flipped to change jobs; it gives no millimeter thickness or named fine/medium grade. The grating disc is a separate item.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the dough blade work for your planned kneading job?

SS401 includes a dedicated dough blade and the guide directs dough use to its DOUGH preset or speed 1 only. It does not state a flour-cup ceiling. Do not use the separate stacked chopping blade as a substitute or infer a numeric dough maximum from the 72-ounce pitcher.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a particular batch of yeast dough by flour cups a hard limit?

The guide identifies a DOUGH MAX line, but does not state its volume or a maximum flour amount. The manual's 600 g meat, 600 g Parmesan and 700 g baking-chocolate limits apply to the stacked blade and are not dough amounts.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do all removable parts have to be confirmed for top-rack washing?

The SS400 Series guide says containers, lids, discs and blade assemblies are dishwasher-safe. It does not give a top-rack instruction, so that stricter care requirement remains unconfirmed for SS401.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does a 90-second uninterrupted motor-on interval have to be documented?

The guide says manual blending in the pitcher runs continuously for up to 60 seconds; it does not document a longer interval or general rest schedule. Treat the automatic stop as a limit, not permission to extend continuous operation.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Ninja Foodi Power Blender Ultimate System SS401 is a hybrid that makes processor cuts in its blender pitcher. Its package also has an 18-ounce smoothie-bowl maker and a 24-ounce nutrient-extraction cup, but those are different vessels for different jobs—not extra food-processor capacity. SS401 suits a kitchen that will use blending and food prep from the same motor base. If your essential question is how large a dedicated processor work bowl is, this model is harder to place: the manufacturer calls the 72-ounce vessel a “Power Blender & Processor Pitcher,” and the manual’s disc maximum is an unnumbered line.

One pitcher, several tool changes

The exact U.S. SS401 listing identifies a feed-chute lid with a two-part pusher, a reversible slicing/shredding disc, a separate grating disc, a dough blade and a stacked chopping blade. Slicing, shredding and grating happen in the 72-ounce pitcher with the chute lid installed; blending or chopping uses that same pitcher with a flat lid and the relevant blade assembly. The discs are useful when you want ribbons, shredded vegetables or grated hard cheese without buying a separate full-size processor. The tradeoff is a shared bowl: disc work and blade work require different assemblies and lids, and you cannot leave a dedicated processor bowl set up while using a second pitcher on the base.

There is no separate rated food-processor bowl in the exact in-box list. The product page’s 72-ounce pitcher size describes the vessel, while the guide’s 64-ounce maximum is specifically a liquid-fill limit. The disc instructions instead say not to exceed a “DISC MAX” mark but do not state a cup amount. Those figures are not interchangeable, so the matcher treats a rated processor-bowl minimum as unknown rather than converting fluid ounces into a guaranteed chopping batch. If an eight-cup rated work bowl is essential, consider TB401, whose listing confirms one, or check SS401’s markings against your own batch before buying.

Choose it for the tools, not the motor headline

SS401’s reversible disc has a slicer face and a shredder face; the exact sources do not give the slice thickness or identify separate fine and medium shred grades. Its grating disc is an additional tool, but a grater is not a grid dicer. The package does not list a dicing kit, French-fry disc, crinkle-cut disc, adjustable slicer or second processor bowl. If one of those is essential, compare packages by the named item rather than the broad “ultimate system” description or a promotional image.

The exact page lists 1,200 watts and separately advertises 1,600 peak watts. Neither number is a measured comparison of texture, speed, noise or durability. It also lists seven automatic and eleven manual programs. The SS400-series guide describes container-dependent Auto-iQ modes: the “DISC” mode or manual speed 1 for the chute/disc setup; DOUGH or speed 1 with the dough blade; and up to ten manual speeds with the pitcher and stacked blade. The cup and smoothie bowl are limited to speed 10. Program availability depends on the installed container and lid, so the program count is not a promise that every preset works in every configuration.

Dough use has a tool and a boundary

The included dough blade and DOUGH preset make SS401 a plausible fit for occasional mixing and dough formation, especially if you also want its blender and smoothie vessels. The guide directs dough use to the DOUGH program or speed 1. Its pitcher has a DOUGH MAX line, but neither the exact product page nor the inspected guide gives a numeric flour-cup maximum. That means a flour requirement in cups remains unknown; a dough recipe using the machine is not proof of the maximum safe batch. The guide also states that manual blending runs continuously for up to 60 seconds. There is no general motor rest interval or permission to exceed that stop, so households needing a documented 90-second uninterrupted run should look elsewhere.

Care, counter space and fit

The SS400 Series Owner’s Guide says the removable containers, lids, discs and blade assemblies are dishwasher-safe. It does not specify top-rack placement, so buyers with a strict top-rack-only requirement should not assume it. The motor base is wiped with a damp cloth rather than submerged, and the guide warns against dry grinding and hot-liquid blending. The exact SS401 listing gives a 15.59-inch height, 18.5-inch length, 9.84-inch width and 14.55-pound weight. Check the height and storage footprint with the pitcher and attachments in mind; the machine’s single base does not make the extra vessels and blades disappear from the cupboard. The listed warranty is one year.

Compared with Ninja’s IQ801BK, SS401 makes its slicing/shredding disc and grating disc explicit in the box list, while IQ801BK has a separately rated eight-cup processor bowl and named Chop/Dough presets but no listed slicing disc. TB401 also has a rated eight-cup processor bowl and reversible disc; SS401 adds the grater and separate smoothie-bowl/extraction vessels, but does not publish an equivalent processor-bowl rating. A dedicated Cuisinart or Breville processor may be a clearer choice if bowl size, a specific cut thickness or a manual-listed dough amount matters more than the pitcher blending attachments.

Bottom line: SS401 earns a place when you will use its shared blender/processor pitcher for both blade work and disc prep, and you value the extra smoothie bowl and nutrient cup. It is not the best fit for a strict rated-bowl minimum, grid dicing, fixed cut dimensions, a flour-cup ceiling, or verified top-rack washing. Keep those requirements hard and compare them with the exact package and manual, not with vessel labels alone.

Sources: Ninja U.S. SS401 product page and Ninja U.S. food-processor directory; the SS401 Quick Start Guide and applicable SS400 Series Owner’s Guide. Published specifications describe the manufacturer’s package and instructions, not independent performance tests.

Key details at a glance

Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedYes
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Published appliance height15.59 in
Household power supplyU.S. household corded appliance; the Owner's Guide specifies 120 V, 60 Hz and 1,200 W. The exact SS401 page separately labels 1,600 peak W; peak and rated power are not interchangeable.
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power1200 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Crinkle-cut disc includedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Published width9.84 in
Published weight14.55 lb
Grating disc/function explicitly includedYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.