Model assessment · Ninja

Ninja Detect Kitchen System Power Blender + Processor Pro review

A U.S. hybrid system with an 8-cup processor bowl, reversible slicing/shredding disc, chopping and dough blades, a 72-ounce pitcher, and a 24-ounce single-serve cup.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Ninja Detect TB401 black motor base with its blender pitcher, single-serve cup, food-processor bowl and blade attachments
Exact TB401 U.S. manufacturer gallery main-image asset. This system image shows the separate vessels and attachments; the manufacturer does not disclose whether its composition is photograph, render or mixed media. Ninja / SharkNinja U.S.
A useful fit for

Choose the TB401 if the same counter appliance needs to blend in its pitcher or single-serve cup and also process food in an eight-cup bowl with an included reversible slice/shred disc and dough blade. It is not the right package when grid dicing, French-fry, crinkle-cut or larger-than-eight-cup processor capacity is essential.

The main tradeoff

The exact package combines three different vessels with separate jobs, so the blender pitcher and cup do not enlarge the work bowl. The included disc supports slicing and shredding, but its cut thickness is not stated and it is not a dicing or fry-cutting kit. The manual’s dough workflow forms a ball rather than continuously kneading; its timed manual mode stops at 60 seconds, without a stated universal duty-cycle limit.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Will an eight-cup processor bowl satisfy your minimum, with the pitcher and cup treated as separate tools?

The exact TB401 package has an eight-cup/64-ounce processor bowl. Its 72-ounce pitcher and 24-ounce personal cup have separate blending uses and do not enlarge the processor bowl.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must your package include a reversible disc for slicing and shredding?

The exact TB401 box list and owner guide include a reversible slicing/shredding disc and spindle. The sources do not specify the slice thickness or document both fine/thin and medium shred grades.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a dough blade useful, or is grid dicing your required job?

The package includes a dough blade; the manual says LOW only and describes forming a dough ball, followed by hand kneading. The box list does not include a grid dicer.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require a verified top-rack instruction for the removable parts?

The TB401 guide says accessories are top-rack dishwasher-safe without heated dry, and says to remove blade assemblies from their containers first. The motor base is wiped, not immersed.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Ninja Detect Kitchen System TB401 is a blender-and-processor combination with three different vessels: an 8-cup processor bowl, a 72-ounce pitcher, and a 24-ounce single-serve cup. It can suit a kitchen where both blending and food prep are regular jobs. The pitcher and cup do not increase processor-bowl capacity; they are separate tools with separate uses.

Keep the capacity labels separate

The exact U.S. listing rates the processor bowl at 64 ounces, or 8 cups. The pitcher holds 72 ounces but has a 64-ounce maximum liquid fill; the single-serve cup is listed as 24 ounces. Do not combine those numbers to compare processor batches. Eight cups is a bowl rating, not a promise that every recipe, dough, or ingredient fits in one load. The owner’s guide shows a MAX FILL line but no task-by-task chart for chopped produce, nuts, or flour.

If you only need a processor, the pitcher and cup add more parts to store and wash without raising the bowl rating. If you make smoothies or pitcher blends alongside chopping, slicing, shredding, and dough preparation, the second and third vessels may be useful. Decide whether you will use them before choosing a hybrid over a dedicated processor.

Controls and processor tools

The product page identifies a 1,200-watt motor rating and separately advertises 1,800 Peak Watts. Peak and rated wattage are different labels, not a performance test or a measured prediction of texture, noise, speed, or durability. Ninja lists six automatic and fourteen manual programs. The TB401 guide names BlendSense, DISC, MINCE, SMALL CHOP, and LARGE CHOP modes. Manual pitcher speeds run from 1 to 10; the processor bowl and single-serve cup use LOW, MEDIUM, HIGH, and press-to-run PULSE.

The exact box list and guide identify a chopping blade, dough blade, and reversible slicing/shredding disc with spindle. The disc has separate slicing and shredding faces. The package list does not include a grid dicer, French-fry disc, crinkle-cut disc, whisk, or second work bowl. The sources do not state the slice thickness or confirm two distinct fine/medium shred grades. If a cut size or grade is essential, seek its exact specification instead of inferring it from a photograph or the word “disc.”

Read the dough claim narrowly

Ninja advertises up to two pounds of dough. That is a manufacturer-stated dough-mass claim, not a flour-cup ceiling or a task limit for every recipe. The owner’s guide says to run the dough blade on LOW, not to use processing-mode programs with it, and to expect the appliance to form a dough ball rather than continuously knead. Finish kneading by hand. The guide does not provide a flour maximum or task chart. If a specific flour amount, repeated heavy batch, or uninterrupted kneading is essential, compare the booklet limit with your recipe before choosing.

Each manual setting stops automatically after 60 seconds. That helps explain a pulse-and-check workflow, but it is not a stated universal motor duty cycle or a rest interval between batches. Do not interpret a timed stop as permission for longer continuous use.

Cleaning and safety are part of the fit

The TB401 guide says its BPA-free accessories are top-rack dishwasher-safe, without heated dry, and directs users to remove blade assemblies before washing containers. Unplug the motor base and wipe it with a damp cloth; do not immerse it. The guide also says not to use the system for dry grinding or to blend hot, carbonated, or effervescent ingredients. If you need those jobs, this is not a package to choose by assuming that a blender or another Ninja model’s directions apply.

When to compare another package

TB401 makes most sense when you expect to use its full-size pitcher and personal cup along with an 8-cup processor bowl, the reversible disc, and the included dough blade. It carries a one-year limited warranty. Look elsewhere if a nine-cup-or-larger processor bowl, grid dicing, French-fry or crinkle cutting, adjustable slicing thickness, two specified shred grades, or a documented flour maximum is non-negotiable.

Within Ninja’s hybrid line, TB401’s included slice/shred disc distinguishes its package from the itemized IQ801BK box list, which names chopping and dough tools but no disc. The CrushBOSS LB451BK1 listing includes an AutoPrecision dicing system; the LB401WH base package lists dicing as a separate option. Those are package differences, not proof one base processes better. If blending vessels do not matter, compare dedicated machines: Cuisinart’s FP-110 is an 11-cup processor package with fixed fine/medium discs and a documented flour ceiling; Breville’s BFP610 is a 9-cup processor with an adjustable slicer and reversible coarse/fine shredder, while its compatible dicing kit is separately sold. Check the exact tool list and manual limits against your routine.

Bottom line: TB401 is a three-vessel system with a real 8-cup food processor package. Choose it when you will also blend; choose a dedicated processor or a different Ninja package when bowl size, a particular cut, or a task limit determines the decision.

Sources: Ninja U.S. TB401 product page, the Ninja U.S. food-processor directory, and the TB401 Owner’s Guide (retailer-hosted copy of a SharkNinja-authored manual). The guide was inspected in the browser PDF viewer; direct PDF retrieval was access-denied. Product claims are not independent performance tests.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity8 cups
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedYes
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Household power supplyU.S. corded system; Owner’s Guide specifies 120 V, 60 Hz and 1,200 W. The exact retail page also labels 1,800 Peak Watts; peak and rated power are not interchangeable.
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power1200 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Crinkle-cut disc includedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.