Model assessment · Oster

Oster Classic Series 16-Speed Blender with Food Chopper (6878) review

A blender package with a separate three-cup BPA-free food-chopper bowl and stainless-steel S blade; it is not a disc-style full-size processor.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Oster Classic Series 6878 brushed-metal blender with a separate clear food-chopper vessel beside the glass pitcher
Oster's product-page image for the brushed-nickel 6878/SAP 2136851 package shows the 6-cup glass blender jar and separate 3-cup chopper. The manufacturer does not disclose whether the staged image is a photograph, composite or rendering; it is illustrative, not a performance result. Oster U.S.
A useful fit for

A candidate for households that already want a full-size blender and would use a separate, modest 3-cup food-chopper bowl for chopping tasks. It is not a disc-style processor package and should not be shortlisted as a substitute when slicing, shredding, dicing, a dough blade or a documented larger-batch routine is essential.

The main tradeoff

This combo adds a chopper to a 6-cup glass blender rather than supplying a full-size processor work bowl and cutting discs. The exact listing confirms 3-cup jar capacity but no task-by-task chopper batch chart or motor run interval; the linked general Oster manual returned 404 and the official embedded attachment video could not be inspected. Dishwasher safety is stated for removable parts except the base, but no top-rack-only instruction was found. Do not turn the 700-watt blender figure or 16 blender speeds into an unverified processor-performance claim.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is a separate three-cup chopper bowl enough for your regular small prep?

The exact 6878 package includes a 3-cup BPA-free food-chopper jar with an S blade; its six-cup Boroclass vessel is a separate blender jar.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a slicing or shredding disc in the box?

No. The exact attachments list names a food chopper, not a slicing/shredding disc. If that cut is essential, shortlist a disc-equipped processor instead.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need the included tool to knead dough?

This package does not list a dough blade, and no exact chopper manual was available to confirm a different dough method. Choose a package whose manual supports your dough routine.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is dishwasher-safe care of the removable parts an essential filter?

Oster says all parts except the blender base are dishwasher-safe and specifies the bottom basket for the sealing ring; no top-rack-only instruction was established for this package.

Explore this need in the finder →

A blender set with a small powered chopper

The Oster Classic Series 16-Speed Blender with Food Chopper, model 6878 and product-page code SAP 2136851, is best understood as a blender package that adds a separate 3-cup food-chopper bowl. Oster lists a 6-cup Boroclass glass blender jar, a 3-cup BPA-free chopper jar with a stainless-steel S blade, a 700-watt blender and 16 speeds. That combination can make sense if the blender is already part of your routine and a small chopping vessel would save a second appliance. The chopper is the relevant food-prep part here; the larger jar is for blending, not a second processor work bowl.

What the chopper does—and what is not in the box

The product page calls the smaller attachment a food chopper and itemizes its jar and S blade. It does not list a slicing or shredding disc, dicing grid, dough blade, extra work bowl or feed-tube accessory. Do not read “16 speeds” as 16 processor operations: that is the control specification for the blender system, and the available listing does not map individual settings to chopper tasks. A three-cup vessel is also not a task-by-task batch chart. If uniform slices for a tray of vegetables, repeated grating, grid-cut dice or a documented dough routine is essential, choose a processor whose exact package includes the needed tool and whose manual describes that use.

For an occasional small chopping job, the separate bowl has a clear practical appeal: the chopper does not require you to use the full-size glass blender jar for every small quantity. That is a format advantage, not a measured performance claim. The manufacturer’s available product information does not publish a chopper batch limit beyond the 3-cup jar description, a duty cycle, or a task-by-task speed recommendation. It also does not establish that the chopper should be used for every ingredient the blender can handle. Keep those unknowns in mind if your routine involves repeated, dense, sticky or unusually large batches.

Choose by the whole package

The 700-watt figure and 10-year Duralast all-metal-drive limited warranty appear on the blender package page. They are not independent processor testing, and the drive warranty should not be mistaken for a ten-year warranty on every vessel, blade or component. Oster also lists a three-year satisfaction guarantee; check the current terms and eligibility before relying on it. The six-cup glass jar, separate three-cup chopper and motor base create more pieces to store and clean than a stand-alone mini chopper, but may reduce counter duplication if both blending and small-batch chopping are regular jobs.

If you primarily need a small chopper and do not expect to blend, a dedicated unit such as the KitchenAid KFC3516 is a more direct comparison: its own package is centered on a 3.5-cup chopper bowl, rather than a blender pitcher plus sidecar. If you frequently slice, shred or process larger quantities, compare a full-size model such as KitchenAid KFP0719, which is assessed separately for its larger work bowl and included processing tools. Those alternatives answer different kitchen routines; neither should be treated as a like-for-like performance test against Oster.

Cleaning and the missing operating detail

Oster’s package page says that all parts except the blender base are dishwasher-safe and directs the sealing ring to the bottom dishwasher basket. It says to wipe the base with a damp, soft sponge and mild detergent. The page does not specify top-rack-only placement for the chopper vessel, so do not assume the narrower care rule used by some other small processors. The exact page links customers to a general blender manual, but that file was unavailable when checked and no chopper-specific directions could be verified. If the exact speed, assembly, batch or run/rest instruction matters to you, obtain the matching 6878 guide from Oster before operating the attachment; do not substitute guidance from another blender or a larger processor.

Who should shortlist model 6878?

Shortlist it when a six-cup blending jar is genuinely useful, you also want a separate small chopper vessel, and chopping—not slicing, shredding or dicing—is the processor task you need covered. The model identity is confirmed by Oster Consumer Care on the exact product listing, which identifies Classic Series model 6878; the listing’s SAP code identifies this brushed-nickel package. Its exact U.S. page currently directs shoppers to retail partners, but that does not guarantee stock or a particular price. Search for “Oster 6878 blender with food chopper” rather than relying on the family name alone, and verify the pictured 3-cup chopper attachment is included in the package you find.

Bottom line

This is a useful hybrid format for a household that wants a conventional blender and occasional small-bowl chopping from one motor base. Its 3-cup chopper and S blade should not be mistaken for a full-size food processor with interchangeable slicing, shredding or dicing tools. The most important tradeoff is not the headline wattage; it is whether the compact chopper role matches your actual prep list. If your essential work involves a cutting disc, larger or charted batches, or a manual-supported dough task, choose a separately assessed processor package instead. If blending and modest chopping are the two jobs you want to combine, the package is a more relevant candidate—provided you confirm the attachment and the correct instructions for the exact 6878 set.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity3 cups
Extra-large feed tube identifiedNo
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power700 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.