Model assessment · Vitamix

Vitamix Ascent X5 SmartPrep Kitchen System review

An Ascent X5 blender base, 48-ounce jar and standard 12-cup SELF-DETECT processor attachment. The X5 expands the blender-program set to ten, including Spice Grinding on the blender side; its standard processor discs remain the standard pair.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Vitamix Ascent X5 base with the 12-cup processor attachment assembled
Exact X5 page gallery asset shows the X5 with the processor attachment in use; it does not identify the image as a particular selected finish. Vitamix U.S.
A useful fit for

Consider standard X5 if you want the Ascent X5’s ten blender programs and a processor bowl in one overall kitchen system. The added program range is useful only if you expect to blend as well as process; on the processor side the exact package lists the standard two reversible discs.

The main tradeoff

The X5 does not include X4’s named julienne and veggie-stick discs, a grid dicing kit, French-fry disc or dedicated dough blade. “Spice Grinding” is an X5 blender program, not a Grind control for the processor bowl. The manual’s 8-cup wet limit and three-minute maximum still apply to the processor attachment even though the system base is rated at 1500 W.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Must the attachment’s wet maximum meet an eight-cup minimum?

The processor manual allows no more than 8 cups of wet ingredients; this is separate from the 12-cup dry maximum.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does a blender-side Spice Grinding program satisfy processor grinding?

No. The processor’s general Grind field remains false; X5 documents Spice Grinding only for blender use.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require the X4’s julienne or veggie-stick discs?

X5’s standard processor attachment lists only its usual reversible slice/shred pair, not either X4 addition.

Explore this need in the finder →

Vitamix Ascent X5 SmartPrep Kitchen System

The Ascent X5 SmartPrep combines a high-feature Ascent blender with Vitamix’s 12-cup SELF-DETECT food-processor attachment. It fits a particular kind of kitchen: one that wants both a full blending setup and a processor bowl, and has room for their separate containers, lids and attachment base. A buyer who only needs a food processor should compare stand-alone processors rather than treating the X5’s blender motor, jar and controls as free extras.

Its processor set is the standard one

The X5 package lists the 12-cup work bowl, lid, two food pushers, multi-use blade and the attachment’s two reversible slice/shred discs, plus disc storage. Those standard discs cover small-shred/thin-slice and large-shred/thick-slice work. The X5 does not list the X4’s additional julienne and veggie-stick discs; more blender-side programs do not mean more processor-side cutting tools. It also does not list a dicing grid, a separately named French-fry disc, fixed millimeter slice thickness, a dedicated dough blade or an extra processor bowl. The multi-use blade is listed for chopping, mincing, kneading and mixing, but the manufacturer does not publish a dough/flour amount for it in the processor manual.

The bowl’s name is not its only limit. The attachment booklet sets the marked maximum at 12 cups for dry ingredients and 8 cups for wet ingredients, says not to run continuously for over three minutes, and warns against frozen meat, bone-in meat, and frozen or hard produce with the chopping blade. It recommends using the supplied pushers and reducing the load if the bowl rocks or the unit shuts off prematurely. These instructions put a ceiling around real work even though the motor base is also rated for blender use; horsepower cannot override the processor attachment’s manual.

Spice Grinding belongs to the blender side

Where the X5 stands apart from X2 and X4 is its ten automatic programs. Vitamix lists smoothies, frozen desserts, soups, frozen cocktails, dips and spreads, smoothie bowl, frappé, nut butters, non-dairy milks and Spice Grinding. That last item is a blending program for the X5 blender container. It is not a separate processor-bowl Grind control and does not make the food-processor attachment a grain or spice mill. The finder therefore does not mark processor grinding as included. The X5 base’s tamper indicator and add-15-seconds button similarly apply to blending programs, not to dicing or slicing in the attachment.

The package includes a 48-ounce blender container and a silicone blender spatula. It lists 120 V/1500 W for the system and gives separate dimensions for the X5 base and the 12-cup processor attachment; it does not state a combined assembled height. The attachment manual says its work bowl, snap-on lid, multi-use blade and discs are dishwasher-safe, but not the SELF-DETECT base. Vitamix does not give a top-rack-only rule in that attachment manual. Anyone needing an exact cabinet height or top-rack-only care should treat those as unverified, not infer them from the separate component measurements or general dishwasher wording.

Standard X5 or a different SmartPrep package?

The SmartPrep comparison helps separate the three systems. X2 has three blender programs; X4 has five and itemizes julienne and veggie-stick processor discs; X5 has ten blender programs, including Spice Grinding on the blender side, while retaining the standard processor tools. The X5 Deluxe is a separate bundle that keeps that X5 processor package and adds a blending cup-and-bowl starter kit; it is reviewed separately because the exact package contains additional blender containers. If a julienne cut is essential, X4’s named tools matter more than X5’s larger program count. If a separate mini blender cup is useful, compare standard X5 with the Deluxe package before deciding.

For processor-only shopping, a conventional machine with grid dicing, an adjustable slicer or a separate French-fry disc may be a better match and can avoid purchasing an unused blender. The X5 is most defensible when you will regularly use its blender programs and processor bowl, want an integrated compatible base, and accept the 12-cup-dry/8-cup-wet fill guidance and three-minute continuous-use limit.

This assessment is based on Vitamix’s exact U.S. X5 package page, its linked X3/X4/X5 blender manual, the exact 12-cup processor manual and page-gallery image. The Spice Grinding program is not credited as processor grinding. Vitamix does not disclose whether its imagery is photographed, composited or rendered; no visual claim is treated as a performance test.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity12 cups
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Household power supply120 V, 1500 W
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Manufacturer-rated motor power1500 W
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Continuous-feed attachment includedNo
Dedicated Grind function documentedNo
Peeling disc includedNo
Crinkle-cut disc includedNo
Manual maximum dry fill12 cups
Manual maximum wet fill8 cups
Automatic blender programs (integrated systems)10
Processor attachment includedYes
Blending cup-and-bowl kit includedNo
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.