Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart 7-Cup Food Processor review

A seven-cup corded processor with fine and medium reversible slicing/shredding discs plus a universal blade; the manual limits yeast dough to two cups of flour.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

White Cuisinart FP-7 seven-cup food processor with clear bowl, feed assembly and ON/PULSE-OFF buttons
Cuisinart's exact white FP-7 product-page image, showing the white base, clear handled bowl, feed assembly and front controls. The image does not show FP-7AG Anchor Gray or discontinued FP-7BK Black. The manufacturer does not disclose whether the asset is a photograph, composite or rendering, and it is not used to infer the package contents. Cuisinart US
A useful fit for

A useful fit when a seven-cup bowl, supplied slicing plus fine/medium shredding, an in-bowl storage hub, and small universal-blade dough batches meet the recurring prep.

The main tradeoff

The discs are separate pieces to handle and store; the slice thickness is not stated or adjustable. The two-cup flour limit still applies to yeast dough, and the package has no dedicated dough blade, dicing grid, French-fry disc, whisk, spare bowl or separate refrigerator lid.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need both fine and medium shredding options in the supplied set?

Yes. The FP-7 Series manual lists a fine reversible slicing/shredding disc and a separate medium reversible slicing/shredding disc; both shredding grades are part of the current package.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the FP-7 process sliced or shredded batches up to its seven-cup work-bowl rating?

The manual recommends up to seven cups for sliced or shredded produce or cheese. Chopped produce has a four-cup recommended maximum, and dough, purée and liquid limits are separate.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the appliance height at or below 14.5 inches?

Cuisinart publishes a 14-inch appliance height. Leave room to remove the cover and pusher; the manual advises against operating beneath a wall cabinet.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does it include a dedicated dough blade for yeast dough?

No. The package has one universal blade for chopping, mixing and dough. The manual allows up to two cups of flour for a yeast-dough batch; the dedicated-dough-blade finder choice is stricter and will exclude it.

Explore this need in the finder →

A seven-cup step-up for slicing as well as shredding

The Cuisinart FP-7 is a corded seven-cup processor whose supplied tools give it a wider range than the smaller FP-5. The exact U.S. white FP-7 page and its FP-7 Series booklet list a removable seven-cup bowl, work-bowl cover with a medium pusher, a universal chopping/mixing/dough blade, two reversible slicing-and-shredding discs—one fine and one medium—a removable stem adapter and an in-bowl storage hub. The product page also identifies a sealed lid, On and Pulse/Off buttons, and top-rack dishwasher care for removable parts.

The disc details deserve a close read. The manual describes a fine reversible slicing/shredding disc and a medium reversible slicing/shredding disc. Each disc has a slicing face and a shredding face; the fine and medium grades are not three adjustable thickness settings. This gives the FP-7 more ways to slice or shred than the FP-5's single fine/medium shredding disc, but there are two discs to handle and clean. Cuisinart's manual gives no millimeter slice thickness here, so the review does not call either face adjustable or assign it a cut dimension.

Plan batches by the job, not by the bowl label

The manual lists up to seven cups for sliced or shredded produce or cheese and four cups for chopped fruit, vegetables or cheese. Its other recommended maxima include three cups cooked or two cups puréed fruit or vegetables, ¾ pound of raw meat, fish or seafood, five cups of thin liquid, two cups of nuts for nut butter, and two cups of all-purpose or bread flour for white-bread or pizza dough. It also describes a box cake mix or an eight-inch cheesecake batter and about 2½ dozen cookies as separate task examples. These are not interchangeable amounts: a seven-cup rated bowl does not mean every recipe should fill it to that mark.

The included universal blade handles chopping, mixing and dough in one part. Cuisinart gives a specific ceiling of two cups of flour for yeast dough; there is no separate dedicated dough blade in the listed package. If you want a dedicated dough attachment rather than manual-supported use of the multipurpose blade, the FP-7 does not meet that tool requirement. For small handfuls of chopped herbs, garlic or a dip, its larger bowl and second disc can also mean more parts than necessary. The smaller Cuisinart FP-5 offers a five-cup bowl and one reversible fine/medium shred disc, but no slicing disc.

Two controls and a moderately compact footprint

The front controls are labeled ON and PULSE/OFF. ON continues running until stopped; PULSE/OFF runs while pressed, with the manual recommending short pulses for chopped ingredients. That is a simple arrangement rather than a choice of numbered speeds. The booklet recommends cutting ingredients into roughly even pieces, using the pusher for slicing or shredding, and watching the bowl rather than expecting each pulse to produce an identical cut. It also cautions that heavy loads can slow the motor, and provides a thermal-breaker cool-down procedure if the motor stops after an extended heavy workload.

Cuisinart publishes dimensions of 7.5 inches long by 9 inches wide by 14 inches high. Compared with the FP-5, it is wider and taller; cabinet clearance and room to lift the cover and pusher are worth measuring. The manual cautions against operating it beneath a wall cabinet or in an appliance garage. The removable discs and blade nest in the storage hub inside the bowl, but the manual specifically says to store them in the hub rather than on the stem adapter. Cuisinart's booklet limits dishwasher cleaning to the top rack for removable parts; wipe the base, and keep the sharp blade and discs away from children.

Which model codes does this assessment cover?

The exact white FP-7 and Anchor Gray FP-7AG product pages list the same seven-cup bowl, fine and medium reversible slicing/shredding discs, universal blade, medium pusher, sealed lid, storage hub, dimensions and three-year limited warranty. The manufacturer also has a discontinued black FP-7BK page with the same listed package and dimensions. This assessment treats the current FP-7 and FP-7AG as finish variants of one documented setup; FP-7BK is retained as a reference-only earlier finish, not as a current buying suggestion. Check the code on a used or older listing before assuming that its tools, lid or condition match a current FP-7 package.

There is also a 9-cup continuous-feed model in Cuisinart's range, and the FP-7 page says it is compatible with Cuisinart's separately sold CFA-10 attachment. The attachment is not included. If continuous slicing beyond the work bowl is a requirement, compare the exact machine-and-accessory package rather than treating compatibility as a supplied feature.

Who should shortlist it?

The FP-7 is a sensible fit when seven-cup slicing and shredding, a four-cup chopping ceiling, simple On/Pulse controls, and one blade for mixing and modest yeast dough describe the work you repeat. It is less suitable if you need grid dicing, French-fry cutting, a dedicated dough blade, adjustable slicing thickness, or the smallest cleanup footprint. If a smaller corded unit is enough, compare the five-cup FP-5; if your must-have is a different accessory package, compare exact reviewed models such as KitchenAid's KFP0719 rather than assuming same-capacity processors ship with the same discs.

This assessment is based on Cuisinart's exact FP-7 and FP-7AG U.S. pages, its discontinued FP-7BK page, and the linked FP-7 Series instruction booklet. It is not a hands-on test. Motor wattage is not stated in the inspected product specifications or manual; the booklet says voltage and frequency are printed on the underside appliance label, which was not observed. No independent claims are made about speed, noise, texture, durability or real-world output.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity7 cups
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedYes
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Published appliance height14 in
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedYes
Removable parts dishwasher-safeYes
Slicing/shredding disc includedYes
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes
Published width9 in
Limited warranty term3 years

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.