Model assessment · KitchenAid

KitchenAid Go 3.5-Cup Cordless Top-Down Chopper KTCR350 review

A 3.5-cup, single-speed cordless chopper with a stainless S blade and storage lid; the removable KRB12 battery is not in this package.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Dark-finish KitchenAid Go cordless top-down chopper poised above its clear bowl, with the central blade assembly visible.
KitchenAid feature image linked from the exact KTCR350PL Porcelain White page. The image depicts a dark-finish unit rather than the PL color and does not show the separately sold KRB12 battery; it illustrates the top-down chopper body, not the complete package. Photo, composite or rendering status is not disclosed. KitchenAid US
A useful fit for

A fit for small-batch chopping, mixing or pureeing when cordless placement matters and the household already owns, or separately plans to obtain, the compatible removable KRB12 battery. The single bowl can be covered for storage after prep.

The main tradeoff

The box does not include a battery, and its 3.5-cup bowl and one stainless S blade do not provide a whisk, drizzle basin, feed tube, slicing/shredding disc or dicing kit. Manual amounts are ingredient-specific and runtime varies; neither the bowl rating nor the up-to-24-minute maker claim promises a particular batch size or number of sessions.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the KTCR350 include the rechargeable battery?

No. The exact KTCR350PL and KTCR350BM packages identify the KRB12 battery as sold separately. A compatible battery is required to operate the cordless chopper.

Explore this need in the finder →
What task and bowl size is this package built around?

It has a 3.5-cup bowl and a single-speed multipurpose stainless S blade for small-batch chopping, mixing and pureeing; it does not include feed-tube discs or a whisk.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are the bowl and blade listed for dishwasher cleaning?

Yes. The common KTCR350/KTCR351 owner manual lists bowls, shields, storage lids and the multipurpose blade as top-rack dishwasher-safe; the motor body and battery must not be immersed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the KTCR350 satisfy a need for an included spare bowl?

No. The exact KTCR350 package lists one 3.5-cup bowl; compatible accessory bowls are a separate purchase.

Explore this need in the finder →

The cord-free version is a package choice, not a larger processor

The KitchenAid Go KTCR350 is a 3.5-cup top-down chopper sold without its removable battery. The U.S. product page lists the chopper, bowl, storage lid, stainless multipurpose S blade and shield; the KRB12 12V MAX battery is a separate purchase. That distinction should be settled before choosing a listing. A household that already owns a compatible KitchenAid Go battery can add the chopper without buying another pack. A first-time buyer who expects to open one box and start chopping should compare the battery-included KTCR351BM instead.

Its strongest use case is small, occasional prep where a cord near the counter is inconvenient: chopping herbs or aromatics, mixing a small batch, or making a puree in the same bowl that can be covered for storage. KitchenAid describes a 3.5-cup capacity, a stainless S blade and a single button that can be pressed and held or tapped in pulses. The motor body sits over the shield and bowl rather than resting as a heavy base underneath. That compact arrangement changes where the unit can be used, but it does not add the feed tube, slicing disc, shredding disc or dicing grid of a full-size processor.

Keep the batch inside the manual's specific limits

A bowl rating is not a promise that every ingredient should be loaded to the rim. KitchenAid's owner manual gives recommended amounts of 0.25 pound of raw meat, 0.25 pound of Parmesan and 0.22 pound of baking chocolate. Those are the stated quantities for the named ingredients, not evidence that other dense or sticky foods can be processed in a similarly full batch. For a coarse result, the one-touch control can be pulsed; holding the button runs the single speed continuously. There is no separate speed dial or slicing attachment to change the texture by another mechanical method.

The manufacturer quotes up to 24 minutes of continuous runtime for the KTCR350 family. It also says actual runtime varies with the recipe, battery age and use, so this headline is not a promise that a single charge will cover a particular number of batches. The manual identifies the KRB12 as the external lithium-ion battery, with a nominal voltage of 10.8V and maximum voltage of 12V. KitchenAid's Go system uses a shared removable battery across its compatible appliances; this can be useful if that ecosystem is already part of the kitchen, but it is not a reason to assume an included battery or a measured cutting performance.

Use the top-down setup as a deliberate routine

The quick-start sequence is straightforward but has several parts that must be seated: set the blade in the center of the bowl, add ingredients, seat the shield, place the motor body into the shield, and install the charged battery. The manual says the bowl, shield and motor body must be properly placed for the chopper to operate, and warns not to run it without the shield seal. Press and hold to start, then release to stop. Afterward, remove the battery before cleaning or changing parts, and do not lift the shield or bowl while the blade is moving. The blade is sharp; keep hands and utensils clear while the motor runs.

The bowl, shield, storage lid and multipurpose blade are listed as top-rack dishwasher-safe. Wipe the motor body; do not immerse the body or battery. A full battery charge takes about three hours, and KitchenAid recommends charging between 41°F and 104°F. Since the KTCR350 package excludes the battery, do not assume the charging cable, wall adapter or a charged battery is in the box; the quick-start and manual explain how to charge the KRB12 once obtained.

Compare it with the corded chopper by your actual task

The corded KFC3516 is also rated at 3.5 cups, but it uses a different package: its included lid has a drizzle basin for adding liquids during mixing, while the KTCR350's top-down design uses a shield and a storage lid. If adding oil through the lid is more valuable than cordless placement, compare the KFC3516 review. The five-cup corded KFC0516 adds a whisk; the KTCR350 does not. If repeated slicing or shredding is essential, move to a processor with a feed tube and discs, such as the seven-cup KFP0718, rather than asking this small bowl to do a job for which it has no supplied tool.

The exact U.S. product page for KTCR350PL identifies Porcelain White, and its finish selector links the Black Matte KTCR350BM package; both are the same battery-sold-separately model family in the reviewed pages. The manufacturer feature image shown here is linked from the exact PL product page but depicts a dark-finish chopper, so it should not be read as the color of the PL finish or as a photograph of the battery kit. KitchenAid does not disclose whether its staged product visual is a photograph, composite or rendering. Choose KTCR350 when the 3.5-cup top-down blade routine and your existing compatible battery fit; choose the included-battery package if that battery is not already accounted for.

Key details at a glance

Rated work-bowl capacity3.5 cups
Manual work-bowl volume0.83 L
Dicing kit includedNo
French-fry disc includedNo
Dough blade includedNo
Refrigerator lid includedNo
Whisk accessory includedNo
Fine/thin and medium shredding options includedNo
Thin/medium/thick disc set includedNo
Dedicated thick-slicing disc includedNo
Household power supplyRemovable KitchenAid KRB12 lithium-ion battery required and sold separately; 10.8 V nominal, 12 V maximum
Rechargeable battery includedNo
Drizzle basin includedNo
Additional work bowl confirmedNo
Adjustable slicing disc includedNo
Medium shredding disc includedNo
Top-rack dishwasher-safe removable partsYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a tool set for your usual prep.

Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.