Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is a nested set of small, disc and main bowls useful for your routine?
The 4200XL listing identifies 6-, 12- and 14-cup nested bowls; the midi is intended for disc tasks and the mini for small batches.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you want the dedicated dough blade in the 4200XL package?
Yes. The exact U.S. package lists a separate dough blade, but the distributor table reports 2.2 lb as a dough amount, not flour cups.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the standard 4200XL package include a citrus press?
No. NutriMill lists the citrus juicer as optional for the 4200XL; the current 5200XL package includes it.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require one adjustable slicing disc instead of fixed discs?
The 4200XL includes fixed 2 and 4 mm slicing discs, so an adjustable-slice requirement points elsewhere.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the 16¾-inch published body height fit your storage cap?
The exact U.S. listing publishes a 16¾-inch body; allow additional clearance for the feed tube and lid.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a manufacturer-listed continuous-on interval essential?
The exact U.S. product listing labels Stop/Auto/Pulse but does not publish a numeric continuous-on interval; an essential numeric interval remains unknown.
Explore this need in the finder →A three-bowl layout with a 14-cup main bowl
The U.S. NutriMill listing for the Magimix Cuisine System 4200XL describes a 14-cup main bowl, a 12-cup midi bowl and a 6-cup mini bowl. They nest, but the midi is described for disc work while the mini is for small chopped preparations; the main bowl handles broader chopping, dough and blending. The graduated layout is the reason to consider this model rather than treating it as one 14-cup container.
The reviewed U.S. package is Black SKU 18414US. The same collection lists current White SKU 18413US and Chrome SKU 18412US, with matching functional package pages. Refurbished versions have SKUs 18414US-R1 (Black), 18413US-R1 (White) and 18412US-R1 (Chrome); check each offer's condition and terms separately. The Chrome refurb page has a “white” URL slug, but its title and SKU identify Chrome.
Choose it for fixed cuts, not adjustable slicing
The included disc package provides separate 2 mm and 4 mm slicing discs and separate 2 mm and 4 mm grating discs. The manufacturer labels these as fine or thick slicing and fine or thick grating. This gives a cook a small, known set of repeatable disc choices, not a continuously adjustable slicer: changing slice thickness means changing discs. If your essential job is to choose a slice setting without swapping discs, look at another package with a documented adjustable disc. Likewise, a slicing disc does not turn food into grid-cut cubes or French-fry sticks. NutriMill sells a separate Dicing & French Fry attachment, so neither cut is in the standard 4200XL package.
The U.S. product page lists a triple pusher and an extra-large feed tube, three bowls, a stainless-steel knife blade, a BlenderMix ring, a dedicated dough blade, an egg whisk, four standard discs, a spatula and an instruction/recipe book. The BlenderMix and bowl are a processor setup, not a separate countertop blender jar. The dedicated dough blade is useful when the recurring task is kneading and you prefer a named dough tool over a universal knife blade. The included whisk adds another specific use for egg whites or cream. These are package facts; they do not establish a test result, texture guarantee or batch-size recommendation beyond the manufacturer's own table.
Read the task table beside the bowl rating
NutriMill's U.S. Magimix comparison table lists 2.2 pounds for bread dough, 2.6 pounds for pastry dough, 5.5 cups for blending, 2.2 pounds for chopping meat, 2.2 pounds for grating carrots and six egg whites for the 4200XL. Those amounts are task-specific. They are not six interchangeable measures of how full the 14-cup bowl may be; in particular, the dough figures are pounds of dough, not cups of flour. The table does not state the recipe formulation behind those dough weights, so do not convert them into a flour ceiling or assume that every stiff recipe fits. When a task matters, use its own listed amount and the exact instructions supplied with the U.S. unit.
The product listing identifies three controls—Stop, Auto and Pulse—and specifies 120 volts. It gives a body size of 8¼ inches wide, 10¼ inches deep and 16¾ inches high. That height helps with storage planning, but measure the clearance needed to fit the lid and pushers and to operate safely; the published body size is not the working clearance. The listing says removable parts are dishwasher-safe and the base should be wiped with a damp cloth. It states a 30-year motor guarantee and three years on parts, including labor and replacements. This is the current new-product wording, not a promise about an individual refurbished unit.
Where it sits beside the 5200XL
The 5200XL expands the main bowl from 14 to 16 cups, keeps the 12- and 6-cup smaller bowls, raises listed power from 950 to 1,100 watts and is ¾ inch taller. Its comparison-table task amounts are higher, and it includes a citrus press that is optional on the 4200XL. Otherwise, the smaller 4200XL may better fit a 14-cup plan or lower clearance. See the three-model guide or the 5200XL review.
Who should choose the 4200XL?
Consider this one when you want the nested mini/midi/main-bowl arrangement, a dedicated dough blade and whisk, the XL feed opening, and fixed fine/thick slice and grate options, while 14 cups is enough for the main bowl. It is a poor match if you require an in-box citrus press, adjustable slice thickness, grid dicing, a French-fry disc or a published continuous-on run interval: the standard package lacks the first four, and the reviewed U.S. listing does not publish a numeric run ceiling. Unknown values should not satisfy a strict requirement. The older 3200XL provides a smaller 12-cup main-bowl reference, but the U.S. distributor's observed 3200XL listing is refurbished and sold out, so it is not a current buying alternative; its separate review is useful for identifying that package, not endorsing a used or refurbished offer.
This is a source-based assessment, not a hands-on test. The archived black product image matches the U.S. 4200XL listing and shows the three-button base and bowl assembly. It contains black transparency/compositing artifacts around the clear parts; the manufacturer does not disclose the image medium. The image illustrates the exact model, not every included tool or a performance result.
Manufacturer and distributor material: U.S. 4200XL Black listing · U.S. 4200XL White listing · U.S. 4200XL Chrome listing · Magimix family manual/documentation page (English UK family booklet; not used for U.S. electrical, warranty or care claims).
Key details at a glance
| Rated work-bowl capacity | 14 cups |
|---|---|
| Extra-large feed tube identified | Yes |
| Dicing kit included | No |
| French-fry disc included | No |
| Dough blade included | Yes |
| Refrigerator lid included | No |
| Whisk accessory included | Yes |
| Fine/thin and medium shredding options included | No |
| Thin/medium/thick disc set included | No |
| Dedicated thick-slicing disc included | Yes |
| Published appliance height | 16.75 in |
| Household power supply | 120 V corded household appliance |
| Additional work bowl confirmed | Yes |
| Manufacturer-rated motor power | 950 W |
| Adjustable slicing disc included | No |
| Removable parts dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| Continuous-feed attachment included | No |
| Dedicated Grind function documented | No |
| Published bread-dough task amount | 2.2 lb dough |
| Slicing/shredding disc included | Yes |
| Published width | 8.25 in |
| Published depth/length | 10.25 in |
| Limited warranty term | 3 years |
| Grating disc/function explicitly included | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Choose a tool set for your usual prep.
Compare exact tools and manual limits: Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus DLC-2A and DLC-4CHB, CCH-3, ECH-4SV and MCH-4 Chop/Grind batches; Hamilton Beach 70450 bowl and reversible-disc tasks; the 70510’s documented bowl-based smoothie method and slicing disc; FP-5 and FP-7 bowls; the FP-9CF continuous-feed setup; KitchenAid choppers; and larger processors. Hamilton Beach 70585 adds a 14-cup bowl, nested 4-cup chop/puree bowl, a dough blade for up to 4 cups flour and top-rack care; compare its separate task caps before batch prep. For a 10-cup bowl with a lid-operated scraper, compare the Hamilton Beach 70730J; its scraper is limited to blade work, and the manual rules out kneading dough, ice crushing and grinding. Hamilton Beach 70723G adds a 10-cup Stack & Snap package with a two-minute manual motor-on limit; it has no dough blade or scraper. The Hamilton Beach 70740G offers an eight-cup bowl with a reversible disc; its manual limits produce and cheese batches below the headline bowl size and rules out dough, ice-crushing and dry-grinding. The white 70733 adds a page-listed 10-cup scraper package, but its linked manual labels 70730/70731; do not carry those operating limits over. Compare it only for exact page-backed tools and keep top-rack, scraper/disc compatibility and task limits unknown. Breville adds two nine-cup choices: the Sous Chef 9 BFP610 has an adjustable slicer and dough blade without a standard-box dicing grid, while the Paradice 9 BFP638 includes a half-inch dicing kit. Compare the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-9-vs-paradice-9/">two Breville nine-cup packages</a> by tool list, manual care and listed body height. Compare Breville’s current Paradice 12 BFP738 and Paradice 16 BFP838 by their distinct bowl sizes, dicing grids, included mini bowl and fry disc in the <a href="/learn/breville-paradice-12-vs-16/">Paradice 12-versus-16 guide</a>. Compare the BFP800 Pro, BFP810 and BFP820 Peel & Dice by their separate packages in the <a href="/learn/breville-sous-chef-16-bfp800-810-820/">Sous Chef 16 family guide</a>: the included grid, peeler and mini-bowl details change the answer. Ninja TotalCrush IQ801BK is a three-vessel hybrid with one 8-cup processor bowl, a separate 72-ounce pitcher and a separate 24-ounce tumbler; compare its chopping/dough tool list with CrushBOSS slice/shred/crinkle and dicing packages. Braun EasyPrep package choices also differ: FP3101BK lists one fixed 4 mm reversible slicing/grating disc; FP3211SI lists fixed 2 mm and 4 mm discs plus a dough tool; CH3012BK is the small chopper with a listed mayonnaise accessory and separate 0.5 L working-capacity figure. Vitamix SmartPrep systems combine an Ascent blender with a separate SELF-DETECT processor attachment: X2 has three blender programs, X4 itemizes julienne and veggie-stick discs, and X5 lists ten blender programs but the standard processor discs. X5 Deluxe adds a blending cup-and-bowl kit, not a second processor bowl. The attachment manual sets 12 cups dry, 8 wet and a three-minute continuous-use ceiling. Oster adds a white six-cup blender and three-cup processor attachment in SAP 2197995; compare that format with the glass-jar 6878 chopper and the ten-cup 2142993 bowl processor in the Oster package guide. Proctor Silex has two earlier sizes worth distinguishing: the 72706 is a three-cup mini processor with an oil-dispenser lid and small-quantity adjuster, while the 70810 is a nine-cup Quick Clean model with a reversible slice/shred disc. Both exact pages say No Longer Available; their manuals do not support every task a larger bowl might suggest.
